Seek out a better experience, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Country 11/01/2018

Uncle Walt's Band (David Ball, Champ Hood, Walter Hyatt) Celebrated In Omnivore's 'Anthology: Those Boys From Carolina, They Sure Could Sing...'

Uncle Walt's Band (David Ball, Champ Hood, Walter Hyatt) Celebrated In Omnivore's 'Anthology: Those Boys From Carolina, They Sure Could Sing...'

Video news

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) "Walter Hyatt, David Ball and Champ Hood have been an inspiration to me ever since the first time I heard Uncle Walt's Band," says Lyle Lovett, a journalism student at Texas A&M University when he first heard them. "Musically, their finely crafted original compositions reflect diverse influences, while lyrically they demonstrate a sensitive, sophisticated understanding of the dignified South."
On March 9, 2018, Omnivore Recordings will release an Uncle Walt's Band career compilation titled Anthology: Those Boys From Carolina, They Sure Enough Could Sing…. The first anthology to chronicle the eclectic trio's history, the set contains five previously unreleased tracks, plus liner notes from Peter Cooper of the Country Music Hall of Fame, a recording artist in his own right. The package contains a 16-page booklet with many rare photographs and memorabilia.
Uncle Walt's Band, from Spartanburg, S.C., moved to Nashville in 1972 and shortly thereafter to Austin at the urging of Willis Alan Ramsey. An attempt at an album proved unsuccessful, so in 1974 the three headed back to Spartanburg, where they recorded their own debut LP, Blame It on the Bossa Nova. One thousand copies pressed — sold through performances and self-promotion — disappeared quickly. Heat was gaining for the band so they headed back down to Austin with a reissued album now titled Uncle Walt's Band. (Pressings of their original LP change hands for hundreds of dollars these days.)
While the album gained many fans and followers it wasn't enough to sustain the band's larger ambitions. Going on hiatus for a few years, Uncle Walt's Band reunited in Austin at Liberty Lunch in 1978, which launched a second phase that turned out to be the trio's most popular and productive union yet. A second indie effort, An American in Texas, was released in 1980, followed by a live album from Austin's famed Waterloo Icehouse, Recorded Live, along with a cassette-only release of studio sessions titled simply Six • Twenty Six • Seventy Nine.
Gaining the love of Texas music fans, performing regularly throughout the state, yet unable to get national traction, they called it quits again in 1983. Although remaining friends and working on various projects over the years, each went on to pursue solo music careers. Hyatt released several albums and performed on Austin City Limits, Hood became a Texas Music Hall of Fame sideman playing for Lyle Lovett and Jerry Jeff Walker, among others, and Ball's success with the hit "Thinkin' Problem" established him as a country music star.
Back in the late '70s at the Waterloo Ice House you could find Uncle Walt's Band fans listening raptly in the packed venue sitting beside the likes of Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Nanci Griffith, Jerry Jeff Walker, or Marcia Ball. Now, you can pull up a seat next to them yourself. This long overdue collection attempts to correct missed opportunities and finally gain Uncle Walt's Band the recognition they deserve.
Enjoy the show!

CD / Digital Track List:
1. Seat Of Logic
2. Dish Wiped Clean
3. Ruby
4. High Hill
5. Aloha
6. Don't You Think I Feel It Too
7. Deeper Than Love
8. As The Crow Flies
9. Bluebird
10. Last One To Know
11. Stay With The One
12. So Long Baby
13. Holding On
14. Walking Angel
15. Gimme Some Skin (Live at The Waterloo Ice House)
16. Whatever Reason
17. One Meatball (Live at The Waterloo Ice House)
18. Shine On
19. Getaway
20. Sitting On Top Of The World (Live at Austin Aqua Fest)
21. I'll Come Knockin' (Demo)

Most read news of the week
Yamaha Supports Six String Theory Competition For Guitar Players, Bassists, Keyboardists And Drummers
iHeartMedia And Turner Announce Nominees For The 2018 iHeartRadio Music Awards
Ed Sheeran Scores First No 1 Single And Album Of 2018!
Dubset To Deliver Mixes, Remixes And DJ Sets To TIDAL For The Very First Time
Omnivore To Re-Release Two Albums By Ska/Rocksteady Pioneer Justin Hinds Via Nighthawks Records Acquisition
New Orleans Punk Trio HiGH On Live From The Rock Room
Bumpin Uglies Announce Signing With Space Duck Records; Releasing Fourth LP 'Beast From The East' On April 6, 2018
Levellers, Beth Orton, Portico Quartet + More To Play 'In The Round' 2018
LiveXLive Acquires Slacker Radio
Killer Dwarfs Sign To EMP Label Group; Announce 4/13 Release Of Long Awaited Live Album No Guff
Americana Duo Surrender Hill To Release New Album On February 2, 2018
Funkateer Bootsy Collins, And Bishop Don "Magic" Juan, Bring The Funk In 2018 With A House Party, Players Ball, Video Shoot Affair
Multi-Platinum Artist And Performer Jason Derulo Teams With Zumba Brand During Key Fitness Season To Promote Latest Single, "Tip Toe"
Svenson: Michael Jackson's Guitarist Jennifer Batten Plays His Songs
Liverpool Does It Again, Introducing The Brilliant Hegarty

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0430410 secs // 4 () queries in 0.017001628875732 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.

Free for everyone, funded by music lovers -> Find out how