Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Oldies 11/04/2018

The Quick Long Awaited Reissue "Mondo Deco" (Expanded Edition) Is Pure Pop From A Post Glam, Pre-Punk World, Out June 1 From Real Gone

The Quick Long Awaited Reissue "Mondo Deco" (Expanded Edition) Is Pure Pop From A Post Glam, Pre-Punk World, Out June 1 From Real Gone

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Power Pop fans, the long wait is over! The Los Angeles mid-seventies post glam, pre-punk, power-pop band The Quick are set to re-issue their 1976 Mercury Records debut Mondo Deco as expanded edition on June 1 from Real Gone Music. This will be the first time the album has ever been released on CD.

Mondo Deco's original 10 tracks were produced by Kim Fowley and Earle Mankey (original Sparks guitarist and also engineer) at the Beach Boys' Brother Studios. The Expanded Edition is now a jam packed 21 tracks and features those tracks newly remastered by Bill Inglot plus an additional 10 demos (which got them signed to Mercury Records) and an unreleased bonus track. The package also includes a track-by-track commentary by band member Danny Benair, extensive liner notes by The Quick fan-club President (and Frontier Records head honcho Lisa Fancher), a new essay on the bands legacy and never-before-seen archival photos.

Track listing is as follows:
1. Its Won't Be Long
2. No No Girl
3. Playtime
4. Hillary
5. Anybody
6. Hi-Lo
7. Rag Doll
8. Last in Line
9. My Purgatory Years
10. Don't You Want It
11. No No Girl (Mercury Demo)
12. Teacher's Pet (Mercury Demo)
13. Hi-Lo (Mercury Demo)
14. Hillary (Mercury Demo)
15. Rag Doll (Mercury Demo)
16. My Purgatory Years (Mercury Demo)
17. It Won't Be Long (Mercury Demo)
18. Heaven on Earth (Mercury Demo)
19. Born Free (Mercury Demo)
20. Don't You Want It (Mercury Demo)
21. Anybody (Unreleased Outtake)

"We are really thrilled to be releasing The Quick's debut album as an expanded edition," said Gordon Anderson, Co-President of Real Gone Music. "It's just hard to believe it took this long to be reissued before this as it's such a key album in L.A. rock history. There is a unique mixture of glam, power pop, and punk…add to that the illustrious achievements of the various band members and Mondo Deco really is the missing link in the evolution of Southern California rock and roll."

Rising from the smog encrusted, sun baked San Fernando Valley, The Quick only existed for three short years (1975-1978) but in that time band members Steven Hufsteter (guitar) and Danny Benair (drums), Ian Ainsworth (bass), Danny Wilde (vocals) and Billy Bizeau (keyboards) managed to carve out a rabid fan base who could were looking for a band that could 'break down the walls between AM and FM radio' as Lisa Fancher mentions in her liner notes. It's no wonder that each went on greater heights in music as Hufsteter, who wrote most of The Quick material went on to form the seminal Los Angeles band The Cruzados, Wilde and Ainsworth formed the band Great Buildings, Wilde then formed The Rembrandts who co-wrote and sang the song "I'll Be There for You" which was the theme song for the hit NBC sitcom Friends, Bizeau went on to write "Queens of Noise" for The Runaways and Benair went on to fame behind the kit in bands like The Weirdos and The Three O'Clock.

Fun Facts about The Quick
*Noted photographer David Alexander shot the cover for Mondo Deco as well as Hotel California.
*Johnny Rotten saw The Quick at the Whisky, as did Roger Taylor and Brian May. (Brian May forced his card upon Hufsteter and insisted that he call him, but he did not.)
*Fans include Paula Pierce from the Pandoras (RIP), author Dennis Cooper and Star Wars' Mark Hamill, the latter did a photo session with them in Malibu and attended their fan club-only show.
*Beck (Hansen) is David Campbell's son and was often around during the recording of band's follow-up 10" officially known as the Elektra Demos while doing his schoolwork or doodling.
*The Quick's discography is highly collectable among fans and collectors with their 10" fan club record "Pretty Please" (also known as "In Tune With Our Times") going for as much as $750+.

Most read news of the week
Jazz Guitarist Dario Chiazzolino Named Ambassador Of D'Angelico Guitars
Cardi B, J Balvin, Karol G, Quavo And Ricky Martin Confirmed To Perform At The 2018 Billboard Latin Music Awards On April 26
Detroit Session Guitar Wizard Dennis Coffey's 'One Night At Morey's: 1968' Coming From Omnivore On June 8, 2018
Ne-Yo Releases New Video 'Push Back' Ft. Bebe Rexha & Stefflon Don
It's Freaky Friday! Lil Dicky & Chris Brown Score No 1 Single
Capitol Music Group Launches Capitol Innovation Center To Be Based At Company's Iconic Tower And State Of The Art Recording Studios
Yamaha Adds Legendary Jazz Pianist Monty Alexander To Its Artist Roster
Camila Cabello Premieres New Song 'Sangria Wine'!
Calvin Harris Releases New Single 'One Kiss' With Dua Lipa
Varese Sarabande Records To Release Femke's "Dancing In Silence"
Shlomo Franklin Announces Debut Release Don't Love Anybody EP Out May 18, 2018
Dead Rock West On US Tour Supporting Dave Alvin, Jimmie Dale Gilmore; May 2nd With John Doe And Exene
Hackers Deface Drake, Chris Brown, Luis Fonsi & Justin Bieber Music Videos
Lakeshore Records Presents The Soundtrack For Lost In Space, A Netflix Original Series Produced By Legendary TV
Nile Rodgers & Chic Complete Line-Up For Greenwich Music Time 2018

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.2616141 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0048384666442871 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how