Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Alternative 18/05/2018

NYC Based Trio - The Merrymaker's Orchestrina Drop Their Debut Album Act 3

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) The new full length, 13 track album, Act 3, from The Merrymaker's Orchestrina exemplifies the completely unique songwriting mastery and style that remains their consonant trademark. As a diverse group of musicians, with a very uncommon style, it can at times be difficult to define a specific genre. From Psychedelic Rock, Experimental Rock Experimental Neo-Psychedelia, Psychedelic Art Rock, Fusion, to Avant-Psychedelia, no matter how it's categorized, the differing songwriting and musical techniques in this record delight listeners at every juncture of the musical experience.

Consisting of Songwriter, guitarist/vocalist Ryan Shivdasani and featuring a new accompanying line-up of Sal A. Mander on drums, and Daryl Chen on bass, the band continues to dazzle audiences in the New York City rock music scene.

The CD was released on April 28th of this year and is beginning to attract the attention of the music media and music lovers at large. It is the result of years of work and is still a work in progress. It has become more of a project than an individual record release.

Ryan Shivdasani, the brainchild of this inventive act is the principal songwriter. His innovative approach to composing music is imaginative and ingenious in many ways. He pulls no punches when it comes to expressing his point of view within the music he composes.

One of the strategies that Shivdasani adopts during the composition process is writing songs in pairs. The songs "Anarchy" and "No Such Thing as God" are two examples; they both share the same theme of being controversial and wacky at the same time.

A lot of Ryan's song themes are also based on Native American cultures. He firmly believes that they have the right idea. Songs like "East of Eden" and "In This World, Not of It" are both parts of this theme. While those had been about the experience of people in our culture feeling dissatisfied and lost and rejecting it, songs like "Anarchy" are more about what he felt was the only real solution to world problems, which was abandoning the ideals that were enslaving us and reverting back to lawless tribalistic lifestyles. This common theme is also the inspiration behind the album tracks "Blood Country" and "Cowboys and Indians".

The song "Enemy" is far more direct. In this cut, Shivdasani embraces things we all feel uncomfortable with but are actually a part of us. "Enemy" is about hatred and going after someone. To simplify, it's a War-Cry. In songs like "Slip Away," Ryan touches on love and romance and does a wonderful job of expressing the emotion in his own words.

In the eerie composition, 'Watched You out My Window', Ryan casts an ominous stalker-like element into the theme. Not because he is actually a stalker but because he just thought it would kind of cool to go there in a song. He feels like songwriting could be a way to voice ideas and things that you didn't feel comfortable with in life, and the effect would be kind of edgy and cool if done right.

Overall, this is a highly diverse compilation of demiurgic music set to multiple themes. The artistry of Ryan Shivdasani comes through, over and over throughout the record in a masterful way. All of the musicians who performed on this CD quite obviously felt the concept and interpretations Shivdasani put forth in the composition of ACT 3.

This is a record for those with an exquisite ear for music and art. The album can be purchased at the Merrymaker's Orchestrina's Bandcamp website and other online distribution outlets. Follow the band's progress at their official website
Official Video - Particle Craze

Track Listing
1. Together
2. Particle Craze
3. Watched You Out My Window
4. East of Eden
5. Cowboys and Indians
6. Enemy
7. Slip Away
8. In This World, Not of It
9. Anarchy
10. There's No Such Thing as God
11. Fade Into the Night
12. Blood Country
13. Wait Behind

Most read news of the week
Stone Temple Pilots Performs 'Roll Me Under' Ahead Of AT&T Audience Network Concert Airing 5/18
Ben Rector Works 'Magic' With New Album, Out June 22, 2018
BET Networks Announces Official Nominees For The "BET Awards" 2018
Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams: New Album "Vanished Gardens" Out 6/29
Shawn Mendes & Khalid To Collaborate For Special Performance At The 2018 Billboard Music Awards
R+R=NOW Debut Album "Collagically Speaking" Out 6/15; Hear The Single "Colors In The Dark"
Composer/Music Producer Deru, Scores Dark Electronica Soundtrack For Youtube Red Series "Impulse"
Norwegian Lyric Dramatic Soprano Lise Davidsen Signs Exclusively To Decca Classics In Major New Deal
Resonance Records To Release Previously Unissued Music From Jazz Guitar Icon Grant Green

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.6070850 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0047867298126221 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how