Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Tour Dates 22/05/2018

Kinky Friedman Readies New Album 'Crcus Of Life' Plus Summer US Tour

Kinky Friedman Readies New Album 'Crcus Of Life' Plus Summer US Tour

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *


New York, NY (Top40 Charts) At long last, Kinky Friedman's second musical act begins. With the proclamation that here "is what music was, before it came homogenized, trivialized and sanitized," Kinky is dropping his first all-new CD of original tunes in four decades. Called Circus of Life, it presents a side of Kinky that few would have suspected in the halcyon days of his Texas Jewboys, laying perhaps legit claim to the title "The Leonard Cohen of Texas." On July 3, 2018, he will release it on his own terms and on his own Echo Hill Records.

A monster summer tour will follow in June, July, and August. Yep, Kinky is finally doing it his way. Harking to his early years, he has chosen to ignore the Nashville ethos that all must be concertedly "radio friendly," sweetened, and over-produced. What he and producer Brian Molnar have delivered is simply one of the most beautiful albums of this year or any other. The first single, "Autographs in the Rain (Song to Willie)"is already in heavy rotation on SiriusXM Outlaw Country, and there are at least four more top-shelf A sides.

Speaking of Molnar, he will be touring as Kinky's opening act for most, if not all shows, promoting his new CD, Within Blue, also on the Echo Hill Records imprint. Kinky and Brian have worked a number of tours together and now deliver a seamless performance, opener to headliner.

It started with a call from Willie (Nelson, of course), who asked Kinky what he was doing at that moment. Kinky answered truthfully that he was watching Matlock, the old TV chestnut, to which Willie replied, "That is a sure sign of depression, Kinky. Turn Matlock off and start writing."

Kinky did just that and started writing the songs he hadn't written or even contemplated for decades, tunes like "Jesus in Pajamas," "Me and My Guitar," and "A Dog Named Freedom." After writing several songs, Kinky called Willie to let him know how successful his advice had been. When Kinky asked Willie how he was doing, Willie replied, "A little up, a little down. By the way Kinky, what channel is Matlockon?" The Circus of Life, by way of Matlock. Via Willie.

With Joe Cirotti on multiple instruments, and Mickey Raphael, Augie Meyers, original Jewboy Little Jewford, Clay Meyers, and Jim Beal providing amazing grace notes, not a single track on the album fails to reach its very high mark. Kinky may "just have to stick with songwriting" after all. To verify this, he's taking it on the road for one of the longest, most comprehensive tours of his storied career. After flash mob-style appearances in Galveston, Houston and Nacogdoches, Texas, the Circus of Life Tour begins in earnest in Pittsburgh, and rumor has it that it will continue on forever. Yes, the second act has begun. May it never end.

Tour dates:
Wed., June 20 NACOGDOCHES, TX Banita Creek Hall
Thurs., June 21 GALVESTON, TX Old Quarter
Fri., June 22 HOUSTON, TX McGonigel's Mucky Duck
Sun., July 1 PITTSBURGH, PA Club Cafe
Mon., July 2 ROARING SPRING, PA The Hungry Duck
Tues.-Wed., July 3-4 CLEVELAND, OH Nighttown
Thurs., July 5 COLUMBUS, OH Woodlands Tavern
Fri., July 6 BUFFALO, NY Buffalo Ironworks
Sat., July 7 PAWLING, NY Daryl's House Club
Sun., July 8 NEW YORK, NY The City Winery
Mon., July 9 WASHINGTON, DC The City Winery
Tues., July 10 JERSEY CITY, NJ Monty Hall
Wed., July 11 FALL RIVER, MA The Narrows
Thurs., July 12 COLLINSVILLE, CT Bridge Street Live
Fri., July 13 CAMBRIDGE, MA Club Passim
Sat., July 14 BLAIRSTOWN, NJ Roy's Hall
Sun., July 15 NEW HAVEN, CT Cafe Nine
Mon., July 16 SELLERSVILLE, PA Sellersville Theater
Tues., July 17 ANNAPOLIS, MD Rams Head On Stage
Thurs., July 19 WOODSTOCK, NY Bearsville Theater
Fri., July 20 SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY Caffe Lena
Sat., July 21 RINGWOOD, NJ Live at Drew's House
Sun., July 22 PIERMONT, NY The Turning Point
Sun., July 29 SAN ANTONIO, TX Period Modern
Mon., July 30 DALLAS, TX Poor David's Pub
Tues., July 31 OKLAHOMA CITY, OK The Blue Door
Wed., Aug. 1 TULSA, OK Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame
Thurs., Aug. 2 KANSAS CITY, MO Knuckleheads, The Gospel Lounge
Fri., Aug. 3 POMEROY, IA Byron's
Sat., Aug. 4 MADISON, WI Kiki's House of Righteous Music
Sun., Aug. 5 CHICAGO, IL Space
Mon., Aug. 6 MILWAUKEE, WI Shank Hall
Tues., Aug. 7 ST. PAUL, MN Turf Club
Thurs., Aug. 9 ST. LOUIS, MO Off Broadway
Sat., Aug. 11 DENVER, CO Hi-Dive






Most read news of the week
How To Follow Up On New T4C Features
Soul Asylum's First Twin/Tone Albums Receive Expanded Reissues From Omnivore On July 20, 2018
Full Winners List Of The 2018 Billboard Music Awards
Ghost Release New Track "Dance Macabre" From Forthcoming Album Prequelle
Official Royal Wedding Recording Is Now Available For Streaming
A Deep Journey Into The Music And Poetry Of Greg Lake - Annie Barbazza & Max Repetti's Moonchild
Dua Lipa & Calvin Harris Take One Kiss To A 5th Week At UK Singles No 1
Tiesto & Dzeko Ft. Preme And Post Malone New Single - "Jackie Chan" Out Today
The Rolling Stones Exhibit, Delivered By DHL, Extends Successful Nashville Run Until August 26th
Aloe Blacc Releases Video For New Single 'Brooklyn In The Summer'
Tami Neilson's Video "Manitoba Sunrise At Motel 6" From Forthcoming 'Sassafrass!' Premieres
Charlie Puth's 'Voicenotes' Scores Top 5 Debut On Billboard 200
Montreux Jazz Festival And LiveXLive Sign A Multi-Year Livestream And Content Distribution Partnership
'Perry Como Classics: Till The End Of Time' Will Premiere On PBS June 2
Jazz Fusion Drummer Bob Holz To Be Featured On Jazziz Magazine's Summer CD And Recording With Guitar Legend Mike Stern!




© 2001-2019
top40-charts.com (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0302091 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0083575248718262 secs


Support Top40-Charts.com (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how