Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 01/06/2018

Brooke Annibale Releases Video For Single "Glow"

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Singer-songwriter/guitarist Brooke Annibale will release her third full-length album Hold To The Light on June 8th. The new record marks Brooke's return following her 2015 critically acclaimed album The Simple Fear and features several major departures in terms of both songwriting and production. Brooke sheds a few layers of her folk-acoustic skin and introduces a new indie-pop direction offering a fusion of textured electronic and traditional instrumentation centered around her stunning voice and keen, soulful lyricism. Today, she released the video for her single "Glow," which Under The Radar described as "pop-progressive...and 'Glow' stylishly represents this shift."

Of the single, Billboard previously stated "With its spectral keyboard opening and urgent, insistent dynamics, 'Glow' is a prototype for what Annibale sought for the new set...another musical sea change that's echoed throughout Hold To The Light."

The songs on Hold To The Light develop like Polaroid photos: each reveals a memory suspended between the perspective of the past with all its wistfulness, pain, and joy, and the revelations of the present. Produced by Sam Kassirer (Josh Ritter, Lake Street Dive, Craig Finn) at his Great North Sound Society in Maine, Hold To The Light features contributions from seasoned artists Zachariah Hickman (Ray Lamontagne, Josh Ritter) on bass; Josh Kaufman (The National, Josh Ritter) on accompanying guitars; Sean Trischka on drums; and Matt Douglas (Sylvan Esso, Mountain Goats) on woodwinds. Brooke's thoughtful, layered songwriting anchors the production to explore a range of narratives working through themes of seeking truths, letting go, and reconciling the past with the present.

Brooke's first single "Hold On" is also out now, described by Uproxx as "A dark and enigmatic taste of her new album."

The release of 2015's The Simple Fear sparked a breakout year for Brooke which led to continuous touring with artists such as Iron & Wine, Josh Ritter, Margaret Glaspy, Great Lake Swimmers, Jesca Hoop, Rufus Wainwright, The Handsome Family, and Aoife O'Donovan. It included a win at the Independent Music Awards for Best Folk/Singer-Songwriter Album as well as appearances at the Philadelphia Folk Festival, Folk Alliance International, and this year's SXSW. Critical acclaim for The Simple Fear included praises from Wall Street Journal, American Songwriter, and Stereogum who hailed the album as "cohesive and wise," while NPR's World Cafe raved, "There's an enticing darkness to these songs."

Catch Brooke on tour this Summer which includes stops in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Philadelphia, New York City, and Boston. To purchase tickets, visit

Tour Dates:
06/02 - Newark, OH @ The Bootlegger
06/03 - Cleveland, OH @ Music Box Supper Club
06/08 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Three Rivers Arts Festival
06/15 - Philadelphia, PA @ Philadelphia Folksong Society
06/16 - New York, NY @ Rockwood Music Hall
06/17 - Northampton, MA @ The Parlor Room
06/19 - Burlington, VT @ The Skinny Pancake
06/21 - Boston, MA @ Fraser Performance Studio
07/03 - Edgartown, MA @ Harborview Hotel - WMVY Porch Concert Series
07/14 - Los Angeles, CA @ Hotel Cafe - 2nd Stage (w/ The Sweeplings)
07/15 - San Francisco, CA @ Neck of the Woods (upstairs) (w/ The Sweeplings)
07/16 - Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge (w/ The Sweeplings)
07/17 - Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern (w/ The Sweeplings)
07/18 - Spokane, WA @ The Bartlett (w/ The Sweeplings)
07/29 - Allison Park, PA @ Hartwood Acres (w/ Lucius)
08/16 - Fort Collins, CO @ Magic Rat

Hold To The Light Track List:
01) Hold On
02) Glow
03) Distraction
04) Hold To The Light
05) We Were Not Ready
06) Collided
07) Either I
08) Underneath
09) Point Of View
10) Then Again
11) Imagination

Most read news of the week
GHS Become US Distributor Of Innovation Double Bass Strings
EQ Channel To Release New Album When The Night Has Come
Make Music New York Announces Full Schedule Of 1,000+ Free, Outdoor Music-Making Events Citywide To Kick Off Summer
Watch Video: Maroon 5 Releases New Star-Filled 'Girls Like You' Music Video Featuring Cardi B
Marshmello & Echosmith Added To The Lineup For The 2018 Radio Disney Music Awards
The Cast Of 'Escape To Margaritaville,' Renee Fleming, & More To Perform At A Capitol Fourth On PBS
June At Blue Note Hawaii Kicks Off With The Wailers
Heart's Ann Wilson Details New Album 'Immortal' Out September 14, 2018
Troye Sivan Announces Headline 2018 The Bloom Tour, Kicking Off This Fall

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0196860 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0030031204223633 secs