Seek out a better experience, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Charts / Awards 25/10/2018

Stefflon Don, Tom Walker, Steve Mac, Lorne Balfe & Steven Marsden Honoured With 2018 ASCAP London Awards

Stefflon Don, Tom Walker, Steve Mac, Lorne Balfe & Steven Marsden Honoured With 2018 ASCAP London Awards

Video news

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), the world leader in performing rights and advocacy for music creators, celebrated some of the most successful songwriters, composers and performers in British music. Among the winners were multi-talented singer-songwriters Tom Walker and Stefflon Don and songwriter and producer Steve Mac. The 2018 ASCAP London Music Awards which honor the PRS For Music writers of the top music of last year, took place at One Marylebone.

Stefflon Don and Tom Walker each received the prestigious ASCAP Vanguard Award, which recognizes the impact of outstanding ASCAP members that are helping to shape the future of music. Both award winners performed at the event, with Stefflon Don opening the ceremony with her hit single "Hurtin' Me" and Tom Walker later delivering his fan favourite "Leave a Light On."

Steve Mac was the recipient of seven awards including Song of the Year and Top Digital Song for Ed Sheeran's global hit "Shape of You," which peaked at #1 on the singles charts of 34 countries. Mac won three awards in the Hot 100 Winning Songs category for "Strip That Down," Liam Payne's debut solo single featuring Quavo, "What About Us" by P!nk and the continued success of "Rockabye" by Clean Bandit featuring Sean Paul and Anne-Marie which spent nine weeks at the top of the UK singles chart. "Rockabye" also won in the EDM Winning Songs category, alongside another single co-written by Mac, "Symphony" by Clean Bandit featuring Zara Larsson.

Steven "Lenky" Marsden was a double award recipient for Top EDM Song and a Hot 100 Winning Song for co-writing "Let Me Love You" by DJ Snake featuring Justin Bieber. The song reached the top ten in the charts all over the globe including in the United Kingdom, US, Germany and Australia.

Scottish composer and music producer Lorne Balfe won Film Score of the Year for his work on The Lego Batman Movie. The computer-animated film produced by Warner Animation Group grossed $312 million worldwide. He also won Top Film Score Awards for the science fiction action movie Ghost in the Shell starring Scarlett Johansson and Geostorm with Gerard Butler.

Daniel McGrath and Josh Phillips won Top Television Series for their work on the theme song for the American series Dancing with the Stars. The song is also used on the BBC's Strictly Come Dancing, making it one of the most distinctive and recognisable theme tunes in households across continents, with millions tuning in each week.

ASCAP songwriter, President and Chairman of the Board Paul Williams, Chief Executive Officer Elizabeth Matthews and Executive Vice President of Membership John Titta were on hand for the festivities. Vice President Membership UK/Europe Simon Greenaway served as host for the evening.

The full list of ASCAP Awards 2018 winners this year is as follows:

ASCAP Vanguard Award - Stefflon Don

ASCAP Vanguard Award - Tom Walker

ASCAP Song of the Year - Steve Mac ("Shape of You" by Ed Sheeran)

ASCAP Top Digital Song - Steve Mac ("Shape of You" by Ed Sheeran)

ASCAP Top EDM Song - Steven "Lenky" Marsden ("Let Me Love You" by DJ Snake ft. Justin Bieber)

ASCAP Film Score of the Year - Lorne Balfe (The Lego Batman Movie)

ASCAP Hot 100 Winning Songs
Steven "Lenky" Marsden ("Let Me Love You" by DJ Snake ft. Justin Bieber)

Steve Mac ("Strip That Down" by Liam Payne ft. Quavo)
Steve Mac ("Rockabye" by Clean Bandit ft. Sean Paul & Anne-Marie)
Steve Mac ("What About Us" by P!nk)

ASCAP EDM Winning Songs
Maya Jane Coles & Duke Dumont ("Swish Swish" by Katy Perry ft. Nicki Minaj)
Andre Gray, Mikkel Eriksen & Tor Hermansen (Stargate) ("Run Up" by Major Lazer featuring PARTYNEXTDOOR & Nicki Minaj)
Fabienne Holloway & Tristan Landymore ("Get Low" by Zedd ft. Liam Payne)
Jax Jones, Raye & MNEK ("You Don't Know Me" by Jax Jones ft. Raye)
Steve Mac ("Symphony" by Clean Bandit ft. Zara Larsson)
Steve Mac ("Rockabye" by Clean Bandit ft. Sean Paul & Anne-Marie)

ASCAP Top Film Awards
Lorne Balfe (Ghost in the Shell, Geostorm)
Patrick Doyle (Murder on The Orient Express (2017), The Emoji Movie)
Dario Marianelli (Darkest Hour)
Daniel Pemberton (Molly's Game, All the Money in the World, King Arthur: Legend of the Sword)

ASCAP Top Television Series Award
Daniel McGrath & Josh Phillips (Dancing with the Stars (ABC))

Most read news of the week
Sara Bareilles Announces Her New Album "Armor," Will Be Released This Friday!
Martin Garrix Wins The Title Of World's No 1 DJ For Third Consecutive Year
Jason Derulo Releases Official Music Video For 'Goodbye' With David Guetta, Nicki Minaj & Willy William
Drake Breaks (Another) Beatles Chart Record For Most Top 10 Songs In A Year!
Ellie Goulding & Diplo Ft. Swae Lee Releases New Single 'Close To Me'
Sister Hazel's Fourth Annual Camp Hazelnut Continues To Bring Magic And Music To Families
Carter Winter To Drop "Temptation" Album Nov. 2, 2018; Ford Music Presents Single "Skylines"
Collective Soul Set To Join "Runaway To Paradise" Cruise With Jon Bon Jovi On Immersive Cruise Vacation In 2019
Cardi B Releases New Single "Money"
Frank Turner Brings His Award-Winning Lost Evenings Festival To Boston's House Of Blues This May
Watch The Ralph Breaks The Internet Spot Featuring A Special Look At Imagine Dragons' 'Zero'
Career-Spanning Hits Collection Of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, The Best Of Everything, To Now Be Released February 1
"Wednesday Night Hockey" Telecast Opens With Performance By Legendary Canadian Rock Icon Randy Bachman
Universal Music Group Appoints Jaime Weston To Executive Vice President Of Consumer Marketing
Jigsaw International Music Festival Brings The Party To Macau Once Again With A World-Class DJ Line-Up

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0307131 secs // 6 () queries in 0.0064151287078857 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how