Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Jazz 08/02/2019

Lyn Stanley To Release 'London Calling A Toast To Julie London'

Lyn Stanley To Release 'London Calling A Toast To Julie London'
New York, NY (Top40 Charts) In this stunning new collection-London Calling...A Toast To Julie London-listeners will discover a side of singer Lyn Stanley that they haven't heard before. The 17 tunes on this recording explore phases of romance from first glance, in "Blue Moon," to a missed chance, in "Cry Me a River." Most of the wide-ranging material presented here was originally recorded by singer/actress Julie London, along with a couple of offerings that Stanley feels would have been perfect for the sultry songstress, such as "It's Impossible," and "I Heard It Through the Grapevine."

With her distinctive sound and approach, Lyn Stanley brings to mind a method actor, mining the stories and feelings in each tune and getting to the heart of the lyrics. Striving for sensitivity, Stanley stays true to these stories and portrays the experiences of people engaged in the dance of romance.

London Calling marks a big step forward in Lyn Stanley's evolution as a recording artist. Just five years after her 2013 debut album-Lost in Romance-this new recording provides a unique vision of Julie London with a self-curated set list emanating from Lyn Stanley's clear idea of how each tune should sound. She holds true to the composers' ideas, while integrating her own.

Working with many of LA's best session players, and without any written arrangements, the intimate collaboration is nothing short of remarkable. Stanley says: "It was a thrill to hear something that you've brought to life come all so easily." The stellar lineup of musicians includes guitarist John Chiodini; pianists Mike Garson and Christian Jacob; bassists Chuck Berghofer and Michael Valerio; percussionists Luis Conte, Brad Dutz, and Aaron Serfaty (also heard on drums); and drummer Paul Kreibich.

The magnificent sound is bright and clear, thanks to engineering by Steve Genewick, Rouble Kalpoor, and Spencer Garcia; mixing by Allen Sides, and mastering by Bernie Grundman. Recorded at United Recording, Hollywood CA. Stanley, whose audiophile bona fides and perfectionism in the studio are well established, has also produced artful packaging for the album with gorgeously photographed images, yet another tribute to her inspiration, Julie London. Completing the package are wonderful liner notes by Scott Yanow, offering a historian's perspective on the music, background on each song, and insights to how both Lyn-and Julie!-approached these tunes.

With a Valentine's Day weekend-February 15, 2019-wide release street date, London Calling...A Toast To Julie London is a gift for lovers and lovers of great music, created the way it was in the 1960s. Keep an eye out for multiple versions of the album, including standard and super-audio CDs, along with a two-disc vinyl LP set.

"London Calling Album-In my 60 years as a programmer this is among the greatest recordings I have ever heard." - SAUL LEVINE, KKJZ-LOS ANGELES

1. Goody Goody (M.Malneck/J.Mercer) 2:45
2. Call Me Irresponsible (J.Van Heusen/S.Cahn) 3:35
3. Bye Bye Blackbird (R. Henderson/M.Dixon) 2:49
4. Heard It Through The Grapevine-bonus (N.Whitfield/B.Strong) 5:29
5. How About Me? (I.Berlin) 2:55
6. Cry Me A River (A.Hamilton) 4:02
7. As Time Goes By (H. Hupfield) 5:17
8. Summertime-Band Version (G. Gershwin/D.Heyward) 5:03
9. It's Impossible-bonus (A. Manzanero/S. Wayne) 3:52
10. Blue Moon (R.Rogers/L.Hart) 3:51
11. I've Got A Crush On You 2:46
12. Light My Fire (The Doors) 3:33
13. Sway (L. Demetrio/N.Gimbel) 5:09
14. Go Slow/Nice Girls Don't Stay For Breakfast Medley (R. Garcia/ D.Cronk) (B.Troup/J. Leshay) 2:52
15. You The Night And The Music (A. Swartz/H.Deitz) 2:21
16. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye (C.Porter) 4:03
17. Summertime-Piano/Vocal (G. Gershwin/D.Heyward) 6:17

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0224240 secs // 4 () queries in 0.020327091217041 secs