Keep your benefits, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Pop / Rock 26/04/2019

Lake Acacia Address Culture Of Silence Surrounding Mental Health On New Single 'Any Day Now'

Video news

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Oxford newcomers LAKE ACACIA have released a brand new video for 'Any Day Now' - the latest single to be taken from their forthcoming new EP Broken Circuits, set for release on 3rd June 2019.

Following lead track 'Desynthed', 'Any Day Now' is the second single to be taken from the EP, and sees the band in their highest gear to date, leaping between clean guitars and frantic drums to an uplifting chorus featuring the band's impressive three-part harmonies, giving an intentionally polarised feel to the track which mimics the emotionally-charged lyrics.

The single is a head-on look at the culture of silence that can often surround those suffering with mental health problems, and the spiral of loneliness and isolation that can affect those struggling to talk about their experiences.

"Any Day Now is a story about someone who suffers with mental illness and keeps it bottled up without explaining how they feel to people, despite how much they want to because they feel uncomfortable about it," explain the band.

"The chorus is almost a cry for help, and plays on the idea of having two personalities or feeling like you live two different lives such as on social media. We wanted to convey this in the video using the quick switching between both personalities."

Anyone in need of someone to talk to about their mental health can contact the Samaritans helpline at any time for advice and assistance:

The band will be playing a handful of select live dates over the coming months, including a date supporting hard rock band The Treatment at O2 Academy Oxford on 21st March 2019, with further live dates TBA.

Broken Circuits is released 3rd June 2019

24.08.19 - Banbury - Vaultstock, The Wine Vaults
29.09.19 - Milton Keynes - The Crauford Arms

Adam Budd - Guitar & Lead Vocals
Tim Groethe - Bass & Backing Vocals

Joe Homer - Drums & Backing Vocals


Lake Acacia are a young and fiercely ambitious alt-rock band from Oxford, consisting of Adam Budd, Tim Groethe and Joe Homer. Formed in 2016, the band have spent the last three years gaining notoriety in their native hometown and surrounding areas on a series of high-profile support slots, variously appearing alongside Flogging Molly, Allusinlove, and I Cried Wolf.

Their distinct take on alt-rock—colliding super-heavy riffs with unexpectedly delicate washes of three part harmonies—is best experienced live, where the untamed energy that punctuates their engaging performances sees them making a huge impact for such a condensed and pared-down unit.

The band's debut EP Figure Frame was released in September 2017 and earned them early praise for its well-crafted, multi-dimensional rock music. Since the release, both singles from the EP—'Hold Fast' and 'Self Restraint'—have been featured on BBC Introducing numerous times. Most recently they were selected by Kerrang! Magazine as one of the regional winners at this year's Fireball's Hottest Band competition.

On their new record, Broken Circuits, Lake Acacia present a further exploration of their contrasting heavy rock sound—at once harbouring both a more introspective and artistic approach to their songwriting, and the irrepressibly vigorous ambition and energy that's fuelled their early successes to date.

From fast-paced riffs to 80s-influenced ambient progressive rock, the EP is packed with dramatically contrasting dynamics and densely stacked layers of their lush three-part harmonies.

Most read news of the week
Marshmello, Tyga & Chris Brown Releases New Single And Video "Light It Up"
DJ Snake Releases New Track "Enzo" Ft. Offset, 21 Savage, Gucci Mane & Sheck Wes
Bruce Springsteen's 'Western Stars,' New Studio Album Out June 14, 2019
Galantis 'Bones' Ft. OneRepublic Official Music Video Arrives Today
2019 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony, Debuting April 27, Brings An All-Star Music Night To HBO
YG Drops "Stop Snitchin'" From Forthcoming Album "4REAL 4REAL"
Country Swooner Jade Eagleson Releases The Official Music Video For "Count The Ways" Today
BMG To Release Soundtrack To Acclaimed New Documentary Echo In The Canyon May 24
The Sweet Things Shares New Single "Almost Faded"
Ciara, Dan + Shay, Halsey And Tori Kelly Added To The "2019 Billboard Music Awards"
Bob Marley's Legend Turns 35
Sway Calloway, Sofia Reyes, Jaymes Vaughan To Host BBMAs Red Carpet Live
The Black Keys Return With 9th Studio Album "Let's Rock," On June 28, 2019
Vevo And Brynn Elliott Release Live Performances Of 'Internet You' And 'Tongue Tied'
Luis Fonsi Makes The World Dance Again With "Date La Vuelta" Ft. Nicky Jam And Sebastian Yatra

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0243750 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0035700798034668 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how