Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 08/05/2019

Brian Eno Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks - Extended Edition - July 19th

Brian Eno Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks - Extended Edition - July 19th

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts / UMe) Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks was written, produced and performed by Brian Eno together with his brother Roger and Daniel Lanois. The music was originally recorded in 1983 for the landmark feature-length documentary For All Mankind, which was directed by American journalist, film director and screenwriter Al Reinert. The film features 35mm footage of the Apollo 11 moon landing with real-time commentary, as well as the Apollo astronauts sharing their recollections of the momentous events surrounding it.

An extended edition of the album will be released on in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing. This very special anniversary release features the original album remastered by Abbey Road's Miles Showell, as well as an accompanying album of 11 new instrumental compositions that reimagine the soundtrack to For All Mankind.

The music from the original album is highly recognizable, and tracks from it have been streamed in excess of 300 million times. Since its release, many of the songs from Apollo have found a life of their own, featuring in any number of films, television shows and commercials - most notably Trainspotting, Traffic, 28 Days Later, Drive and Love. "An Ending (Ascent)" was also used in the 2012 London Olympics opening ceremony.

Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois produced the original Apollo album, which was recorded at Daniel and his brother Bob's studio in Hamilton, Ontario. Lanois also collaborated with Eno on several other projects, most famously producing several albums for U2, including multi-platinum The Joshua Tree, Achtung Baby and No Line On The Horizon.

Apollo was the first recording experience for Roger Eno and was the springboard into a long solo career of his own. He went on to record a number of other film scores, with and without his brother.

The 11 new tracks on Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks find Brian Eno, Daniel Lanois and Roger Eno working collectively for the first time since the original album in 1983. Lanois contributed 3 compositions; "Capsule," "Last Step From The Surface" and "Fine-grained," while Roger Eno's are "Waking Up," "Under The Moon" and "Strange Quiet."

Comments on the original album:
"One of Eno's most stately pieces. Its other worldly qualities reflect a mature artist approaching his work with a craftsman's care and consideration" BBC

"At times empty and disconnected ('Matta'), weightless and serene ('Drift') and completely beautiful ('An Ending (Ascent)), it adheres to an internal logic that culminates with the suitably skin-crawling 'Stars'" Pitchfork

"'Trainspotting' has one of the very best soundtracks of the '90s, and it's 'Deep Blue Day' that sticks out as the most wonderful inclusion in Boyle's classic" Consequence Of Sound

Disc 1: Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks - Remastered
01. Under Stars (4:29)
02. The Secret Place (3:31)
03. Matta (4:20)
04. Signals (2:47)
05. An Ending (Ascent) (4:24)
06. Under Stars II (3:23)
07. Drift' (3:05)
08. Silver Morning (2:40)
09. Deep Blue Day (3:58)
10. Weightless (4:35)
11. Always Returning (4:04)
12. Stars (8:02)
Disc 2: For All Mankind
01. The End Of A Thin Cord (4:08)
02. Capsule (3:13)
03. At The Foot Of A Ladder (3:35)
04. Waking Up (2:29)
05. Clear Desert Night (3:11)
06. Over The Canaries (4:41)
07. Last Step From The Surface (3:58)
08. Fine-grained (3:34)
09. Under The Moon (3:10)
10. Strange Quiet (4:09)
11. Like I Was A Spectator (4:23)
2LP 180gram vinyl in a gatefold sleeve
Limited numbered 2CD edition with 24-page full color hardcover book
Standard 2CD edition
Special digital edition with exclusive cover art
Standard digital edition

Most read news of the week
Stormzy Scores Debut UK No 1 Single
Ananya Birla Drops 'blackout' (featuring Vector & Wurld)
With Over 7 Million Streams On Spotify And Charting In The Top 50's Across The World, Matthew Schultz Returns With 'Go'
Eyal Vilner Big Band - New CD, Swing Out! July Of 2019 Lincoln Center's Midsummer Night Swing
How Video Games Are Helping The Music Industry
LoveSick Radio Release New Blues Tinged Single, "Bloodshot Eyes"
Stanley Brinks & The Wave Pictures Announce Fifth Album & Stream Lead Single 'Tequila Island'
Coniece Washington - Shades Of Shirley Horn - Sophomore Release
L7 Releases First Album In 20 Years, "Scatter The Rats"

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0231431 secs // 4 () queries in 0.002974271774292 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how