Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
 News RnB 10/07/2019

Luaka Bop Announces The Time For Peace Is Now, A Historic Compilation Of '70s Secular Gospel Out September 13

Video news

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Luaka Bop - the David Byrne-founded label behind epochal collections of music by Alice Coltrane, Os Mutantes, and William Onyeabor, among so many others - announces the September 13 release of The Time For Peace Is Now, the second volume in its World Spirituality Classics series. Unearthed from obscure 45s found in attics, sheds and crates across the American south, the collection presents a subset of seventies-era gospel, focusing not on Jesus or God, but instead on ourselves, and how we exist with each other. They capture an intense, soul-stirring version of gospel, unvarnished and honest, devout but never doctrinaire.
Watch a trailer for the project featuring Willie Scott & The Birmingham Spirituals:
And listen to Willie Scott & The Birmingham Spirituals' "Keep Your Faith To The Sky":

The Time For Peace Is Now provides a snapshot of a unique scene: a funky, secular strain of gospel that sprung up at the end of the music's first golden age (post-WWII to the death of Martin Luther King Jr.) and in the wake of the commercial and cultural impact of The Staple Singers. The songs and singers on this collection are influenced by a heady mix of The Mighty Clouds Of Joy and Sly and the Family Stone, and released on small vanity labels with names like Lovie D, Du-Vern, Sen-oj, and Arc-Bel-Kno. While they struggled to get the attention of major labels, the artists — The Triumphs, The Gospel I.Q.'s, The Floyd Family Singers and many more — thrived on the gospel live circuit, and some are still performing to this day.

The Time For Peace Is Now was compiled by renowned soul DJ Greg Belson, and the liners include special essays from New York Times Best-selling author Jonathan Lethem (whose introductory notes are below), gospel expert Robert F. Darden and Pastor Keith L. Whitney, the Pastor of Sanctuary Fellowship Baptist Church in Detroit, Michigan.

Pre-order The Time For Peace Is Now here:
Music as permanently strong and meaningful as this doesn't come from where—it comes from the opposite of nowhere. It comes from individual inspiration fired and forged and upheld by community, tradition, and context. Some of these songs are made by unknown persons who remain hidden from view; some by working musicians who moved from occasion to occasion and circumstance to circumstance. In either case, the creators in question left behind the particular piece of amazement collected here as a testament of one moment of synchronicity. This music has arrived here to change the world at last, or again.

The songs on The Time For Peace Is Now are resplendent with love and yet are not love songs. They speak of life and death, care and disrepair, exultation and release, sorrow and pain, and exhort the listener to hold on, seek peace, let light shine, know joy, recognize the love in one's fellows. All of this music fits naturally into a context of people trying to speak to other people about the condition of being alive. These tracks are here for you, to show you perhaps not the light but some light, and they remain ready, proud, strong and true.

The connection these songs avow to certain spiritual beliefs places them at the same Crossroads—of pop or soul, and their Church upbringing. These crossroads have long been trafficked in both directions. By now they've been reverse-engineered, turned into a giddy playground. The body of songs in this collection, thematically and lyrically, make a distinct commitment to staking out their turf right there at the crossroads. They want to have it both ways. - Jonathan Lethem

The Time For Peace Is Now Tracklist:
1. The Little Shadows - Time For Peace - 4:45
2. Rev. Harvey Gates - It's Hard To Live In This Old World - 2:59
3. The Floyd Family Singers - That's A Sign Of The Times - 3:09
4. Willie Scott & The Birmingham Spirituals - Keep Your Faith To The Sky - 5:06
5. James Bynum - We Are In Need - 3:55
6. The Religious Souls - Condition The World Is In - 3:42
7. The Triumphs - We Don't Love Enough - 3:34
8. The Gospel I.Q.'s - Peace In The Land - 2:55
9. Staples Jr. Singers - We Got A Race To Run - 3:04
10. The Soul Stirrers - I'm Trying To Be Your Friend - 3:16
11. Willie Dale - Let Your Light Shine - 3:30
12. Rev. Harvey Gates - Price Of Love - 2:59
13. The Mighty Reverlaires - Sunshine After Every Rain - 2:38
14. The William Singers - Don't Give Up - 3:00

Most read news of the week
Snow Patrol Debuts New Song "Time Won't Go Slowly", Out Today
Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello's "Senorita" Breaks Records!
Amaal Announces Release Date And Tracklist For Debut EP
TIDAL Launches Enhanced Credits Feature To Spotlight All The Individuals Creating Music
The Piano Guys Release New Rendition Of The Beatles' Legendary Hit "Yesterday"
Sam Fender Shares New Single "Will We Talk?", Out Now
US Glam Rockers DSP David 'Scary' Perry Release 'Combinations' Music Video
LA-Based Duo Moby Rich Unveil Video For New Song "Oil Spill"
The Spider Hole Releases Official Music Video For "The Leviathan Stomp"
Soulful Singer/Songwriter Sharlene-Monique Returns With 'Diamond Woman'
Post Malone Releases "Goodbyes" Featuring Young Thug
Of Monsters And Men Release Official Music Video For "Alligator"
Fifth Annual Coltrane Day Music Celebration Returns To Huntington's Heckscher Park
Kylie Minogue Claims Seventh UK No 1 Album With "Step Back in Time: The Definitive Collection"
The Main And Only Exponent Of Sab-Hop, Sabino Returns With A New Album: "Yin"

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.9105949 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0059900283813477 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how