Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 13/08/2019

Prolific Ambient Artist Alaskan Tapes Announces Views From Sixteen Stories' LP

Prolific Ambient Artist Alaskan Tapes Announces Views From Sixteen Stories' LP

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Alaskan Tapes will be releasing the title track, 'View From Sixteen Stories' from his fourth full-length album, via AT Recordings. The track was premiered on the 12th of August via Clash Magazine while being officially released on the 15th of August, followed by the album on the 19th of September. This is following the release of his 'Times are Tired' single, which was premiered by Son of Marketing and Youtube channel Ambient. The music of Alaskan Tapes has seen multiple playlist adds and millions of hits across digital streaming platforms (with over 20 million hits on Spotify alone) and has been used in multiple commercial projects. Alaskan Tapes releases conventional albums, tracks and EPs, however, the project is also involved in soundtrack work for film and other visual media. Written and directed by Andrew De Zen, the music video for their 2018 track 'Places' was nominated for the Juno Awards Best Video of The Year in 2019 and was featured on NOWNESS and Boooooooom's list of the 15 Best Music Videos of 2018. Music from Alaskan Tapes can also be found in a variety of short films, including "Childhood Trauma" and "Mag Sein" by Director Eliot Rausch, and "ABADDON" by Director Rogerio Silva, just to mention a few. His also received continuous plays on KEXP's Pacific Notions.

Despite no one in his family being directly involved with music, Alaskan Tapes received his first set of drums at age 12, after which he spent the next four years of his life fully embracing them. After that, he began teaching himself online how to produce music. Since then writing and producing music has been his main focus. The ambient producer is currently based out of Ontario, Canada, where he also grew up.

Views From Sixteen Stories, the title track of the album, comes from a recent reading of Chuck Palahniuk's novel Survivor. In the book a character describes dancing with a partner on a ship as the ship is sinking. This concept grabbed Brady as he read it, and knew that he had to explore the emotion that would come through an experience like this. The inspiration for the name of the track translates well into its mood, with a strong surrealist tone coming off of it. The Canadian artist joins concepts across platforms, with a dark, satirical novel meeting ambient music and manages to create a track that would appeal to any artistic mind. It is a baroque aesthetic, reminiscent of the work of Eluvium and William Basinski.

Alaskan Tapes says about the single, "Views From Sixteen Stories was one of the last tracks I made for the album, and one of my personal favourites. It was mostly made up of multiple extra studio recordings, the drums were from the 'The Times Are Tired' Session, the horns were from the first french horn session, and the guitars, and extra elements were added in afterwards. It's often that I use this tactic for songwriting since by the end of the writing process I'm so familiar with the recordings, I know how I want them to sound, and know what elements can go with what. This track also went through multiple forms, originally the drone at the end was supposed to be at the start with a different guitar melody as it slowly built up to the drums, but I ended up shortening it, and putting a shorter version of the drone at the end. The remains of that version are found on the last track of the album."

Views From Sixteen Stories Tracklist:
1. Oh, Seeker
2. The Times Are Tired
3. And Yet They Float
4. Lift Me (Somehow)
5. Another Song To Stop The Spinning
6. Still (feat. Voga)
7. And, We Disappear
8. Views From Tower Two
9. Pretend
10. Views From Sixteen Stories
11. Before Sinking

Most read news of the week
US Bank Announces Partnership With Kane Brown As An Ambassador For Its Music Made Possible Series
Ruel Returns With New Track And Official Music Video 'Face To Face' Out Everywhere
Winners Of "Teen Choice 2019" Announced - Teens Cast Over 55 Million Votes Via Twitter & FOX
SoundExchange To Connect Labels, Music Publishers And Podcasters With New Licensing Service
Megan Thee Stallion Releases "Hot Girl Summer" Featuring Nicki Minaj, Ty Dolla $ign 
Beauty In Chaos & Jammer Direct Present 'Behind The Beauty: Remixing The Chaos' Film
Goo Goo Dolls Share Their Brand New Single 'Indestructible'
Jimi Hendrix Appears In New Bill And Ted Movie
2020 Billboard Music Awards To Broadcast Live From The MGM Grand Garden Arena In Las Vegas
Lenny Fontana & Shirley Lites - Fire (Remixes 2.2)
Camila Cabello Wishes 'Magic Human' Shawn Mendes A Happy Birthday: 'I Love You!'
TJ Walker Announces His New Album And Shares Single Video
Tyler The Creator, Solange, YG, Juice WRLD Will Headline Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival
SMO To Release "This One's For You" Album August 23, 2019
Liverpool's 'Tony Steele & The Massacre' Release New Single 'Bound To Collide'

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0323801 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0066559314727783 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how