Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
 News Oldies 14/09/2019

N*E*R*D's 'In Search Of...' Revisited For Urban Legends' New Deluxe 4LP Vinyl Edition Pairing Acclaimed Album's Original 2001 European "Electronic Version" With Its 2002 Worldwide "Rock Version"

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) N*E*R*D's debut album, In Search Of…, was first released in Europe on August 6, 2001. The album's first edition featured mainly electronic instrumentation for its 13 tracks. On March 12, 2002, N*E*R*D released a new version of In Search Of… worldwide, with the original album's electronic soundscape replaced by instruments played by funk-rock band Spymob. For the first time, In Search Of…'s "electronic version" and "rock version" have been paired, for new deluxe 4LP vinyl set to be released October 25 by Virgin/Urban Legends/UMe. On the same date, An expanded deluxe digital edition for the album's "electronic version" will be released. The new edition adds seven rare and previously unissued remixes and live tracks to the album, all of which are making their digital release debuts.
Preorder N*E*R*D's In Search Of… deluxe 4LP vinyl and deluxe digital editions:
Watch/embed a brief unboxing video for In Search Of… Deluxe 4LP vinyl edition:

In Search Of…'s first edition, also known as the "electronic version," features drum machines and synthesizers for a sound more typical of N*E*R*D duo Pharrell Williams and Chad Hugo's production work as The Neptunes. The album's first edition also features an "Intro" track and three interstitial skits with the tracks "Things Are Getting Better," "Stay Together," and "Tape You."

The album's 12-track global "rock version" is sequenced differently and does not include the first edition's "Intro" track or skits. Entertainment Weekly bestowed an A- review grade on the album's "rock version," saying the second edition "has a crackling vigor missing from the first stab, and its mélange of genres makes for music unlike anything else around." Rolling Stone awarded it four stars, and MOJO also praised it, saying, "It is quizzical, troubled, socially concerned, compassionate, schizoid, retro-eclectic, strikingly modern, racially mixed--and even likes women."

In Search Of…'s new 4LP set presents the album's "rock version" in one 2LP gatefold jacket and its European "electronic version" in its own 2LP gatefold jacket, packaged together with a 24-page booklet in a rigid slipcase. The new edition's LP lacquers were cut by Alex Abrash at AA Mastering.

The seven rare bonus tracks featured on the new In Search Of… "electronic version" deluxe digital edition will all make their digital debuts with the new release. Three of the tracks have never been commercially released in the U.S. in any format:
• "Provider (Zero 7 Remix)" was originally released only on the European "Provider" CD and 12-inch vinyl single.
• "Lapdance (Trent Reznor Remix)" was promo only and has never been commercially released.
• "RockStar (Nevins Classic Club Blaster)" was never commercially released in the U.S.

In Search Of… [DELUXE 4LP VINYL]

In Search Of… "Rock Version"

1. Lapdance
2. Things Are Getting Better
3. Brain

1. Provider
2. Truth Or Dare
3. Tape You

1. Run To The Sun
2. Baby Doll
3. Am I High

1. Rock Star
2. Bobby James
3. Stay Together

In Search Of… "Electronic Version"

1. Lapdance
2. Intro
3. Things Are Getting Better
4. Brain

1. Provider
2. Truth Or Dare
3. Run To The Sun

1. Stay Together
2. Baby Doll
3. Tape You

1. Am I High
2. Rock Star - Poser
3. Bobby James

In Search Of… "Electronic Version" [DELUXE DIGITAL]
1. Lapdance
2. Intro
3. Things Are Getting Better
4. Brain
5. Provider
6. Truth Or Dare
7. Run To The Sun
8. Stay Together
9. Baby Doll
10. Tape You
11. Am I High
12. Rock Star - Poser
13. Bobby James
14. Lapdance (Trent Reznor Remix)
15. Lapdance (Freeform Reform) Re-edit
16. Lapdance (Live In Paradiso)
17. Provider (Zero 7 Remix)
18. Provider (Live In Paradiso)
19. Rock Star (Nevins Classic Blaster)
20. Rock Star (Live In Paradiso)

Urban Legends is a multi-platform initiative that honors the past 30 years of Universal Music Group's (UMG) urban catalog. The label imprint and platform, which came to fruition in late 2017, celebrates the artists and music at the heart and soul of hip-hop.
Nobody forgets the album that changed their life—that one song that defined the moment. Urban Legends remembers and reimagines what it means to be a fan, helping music lovers fall in love with their favorites all over again. We celebrate our icons, our culture, our style, our legacy, our music—and why it matters.
Visit or find them at:

Most read news of the week
The Hu Kicks Off First-Ever North American Tour With Nine Sold-Out Shows Already
Music Island - Perfect Merge Of Music And Online Slot
Diplo's Major Lazer Debuts "Que Calor" Featuring 
J Balvin & El Alfa
Amazon Announces The Launch Of Amazon Music For Brazil, Bringing Customers Access To Millions Of Songs, On-Demand And Ad-Free
2019 Black Music Honors Paid Tribute To Music Icons Xscape, Freddie Jackson, Yolanda Adams, Tamia, & Arrested Development
Rihanna's 'Savage X Fenty Show' To Feature Performances By Halsey, Migos, DJ Khaled, Big Sean And More!
Maluma Heats Up NYC With His "Maluma 11:11 World Tour" October 4th At Madison Square Garden
Why Don't We Announce "What Am I" Pop-Up Shop Series
CMT Crossroads: Sheryl Crow & Friends To Premiere September 27, 2019
Sebastian Straw To Debut Solo Album 'Welcome Yesterday' Via Seahorse Recordings
Bruce Springsteen's Critically Acclaimed Album 'Western Stars' Comes To The Big Screen This October As A Feature Film
MVB Records' R&B And Pop Princess?
Brandi Carlile Wins Artist Of The Year At 2019 Americana Awards
The 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize Announces Final Live Performances For This Year's Awards Show
Eddie Money Dead At 70 After Cancer Complications

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0266449 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0060451030731201 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how