Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Rock 15/09/2019

Tea Leaf (Hora Douse's Tom Lee) Announces Motions EP Released Friday 20th September 2019 Via Beth Shalom Records

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Beth Shalom Records are delighted to announce that they will release Motions, the new EP from TEA LEAF, on Friday 20th September 2019. To mark the news of the release, you can watch the video for lead single 'Summer' today, out now on all good platforms.

Ahead of a recently announced slot at The Fest 18 in Florida, USA on 3rd November appearing alongside Laura Jane Grace (Against Me!), Worriers and more, TEA LEAF will be touring throughout the UK this September/October alongside Toronto songwriter Merival, as well as appearing on select shows with Natalie Evans and Jordaan Mason.

TEA LEAF is the latest solo project from Tom Lee, also known as the vocalist of Manchester trio Hora Douse. Unlike the emo-punk stylings of his band, Lee's solo output removes the bombast and replaces it with a devastating tenderness, not far removed from the likes of Elliott Smith and Phoebe Bridgers.

Specialising in intimate and emotive acoustic/indie storytelling with clarity, depth and nuance, Lee's stark poetic imagery chronicles depression in a minor key, refracting the confessional lyricism of John K.Samson through a melancholic northern lens. A stalwart of the 'DIY' scene for years, Tea Leaf has shared stages with The Hotelier, Tim Kasher (Cursive, The Good Life), Tomberlin, Laura Stevenson, Listener, and many more, in addition to regularly touring with friends such as Fresh and ME REX.

It took until 2018 for Lee's debut release proper to be made public, after a smattering of demos dating back to 2013. Disappear offered a raw collection of songs that intimately chronicled Tom's depression, presenting a stark insight into their anxieties and isolation, while addressing topics such as panic episodes and self-harm. New EP Motions is a concise reflection, twin, and follow-up to Disappear, further detailing Lee's often-difficult relationship with mental health, suicidal ideations, and grief, all with a sense of empathy and gentle self-awareness towards themselves, and others.

Unlike the previously bare-bones recordings of Lee's previous work, the arrangements here are warmly expanded with piano, keyboard, and vocal support from Tom's touring friends, as well as production from Rich Mandell (Happy Accidents). Perhaps most importantly for Lee, Motions also marks a non-linear shift in his own life, exploring fresh new themes of growth and self-help, albeit with hurdles along the way—for the first time in a long time, life has become motion; positive forward motion, rather than the crippling stasis of depression.

Motions is released 20th September 2019 via Beth Shalom Records

Motions tracklist:
1. Promise
2. Motions
3. Summer
4. Grief
5. 31/12

Tea Leaf live dates:
13.09.19 - Newcastle - Heaton Park ^
14.09.19 - Rhôs-on-Sea - Pie Records ^
15.09.19 - London - Lion Coffee + Records ^
18.09.19 - Cardiff - Sofar Sounds ^
20.09.19 - Bristol - The Exchange (Basement) ^
22.09.19 - Manchester - The Castle *
29.09.19 - Manchester - Gullivers (Scott Hutchison Tribute Show)
12.10.19 - London - DIY Space &
20.10.19 - Leeds - Colour Me In Festival (w/ Toya Delazy, Kermes)
03.11.19 - Gainesville, Florida - FEST (w/ Laura Jane Grace + Worriers)
^ w/ Merival
* w/ Natalie Evans + Bonniesongs
& w/ Jordaan Mason

Tea Leaf online:

Most read news of the week
Amazon Announces The Launch Of Amazon Music For Brazil, Bringing Customers Access To Millions Of Songs, On-Demand And Ad-Free
2019 Black Music Honors Paid Tribute To Music Icons Xscape, Freddie Jackson, Yolanda Adams, Tamia, & Arrested Development
The Hu Kicks Off First-Ever North American Tour With Nine Sold-Out Shows Already
Brandi Carlile Wins Artist Of The Year At 2019 Americana Awards
CMT Crossroads: Sheryl Crow & Friends To Premiere September 27, 2019
Music Island - Perfect Merge Of Music And Online Slot
Why Don't We Announce "What Am I" Pop-Up Shop Series
The BET "Hip Hop Awards" 2019 Returns To Atlanta On October 5, 2019
1940s Jazz With Fluer Seule A Multilingual Journey, From The Swing Era Days Of Old New York, To Paris During WWII

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0215170 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0055561065673828 secs