Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
RnB 04/10/2019

L'Orange And Jeremiah Jae's "Sinister And Nearly Psychedelic" Sophomore Album Complicate Your Life With Violence (Mello Music Group) Out Today

L'Orange And Jeremiah Jae's "Sinister And Nearly Psychedelic" Sophomore Album Complicate Your Life With Violence (Mello Music Group) Out Today
New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Complicate Your Life With Violence (Mello Music Group), producer-rapper duo L'Orange and Jeremiah Jae's expansive rap noir concept album, is out today. The record, which sonically lands between a Spaghetti Western and 25th Century Mars, is a continuation of their 2015 debut collaboration, has been met with praise from the New York Times, Fader, Hypebeast, Consequence of Sound, Flood, and beyond. And today, from 4pm to 5pm EST, they'll be answering questions during a HipHopHeads' Reddit AM.

L'Orange and Jae's "After Alley Life" - and its surrealist animated video - landed on a recent New York Times playlist. Watch here:

Consequence of Sound explored the duo's inspirations in their Origins feature (The Dirty Dozen film, Public Enemy and Rage Against The Machine, graphic novelist David Lapham). Read the article and listen to "Borrowed Brass" here:

Complicate Your Life With Violence features collaborations with Chester Watson, Zeroh, Lojii and billy woods, whose last album was called "one of the most compelling rap projects of the year" by the Fader.

When L'Orange and Jeremiah Jae released 2015's The Night Took Us In Like Family, they were subsequently deemed a "seamless pair" by Pitchfork, drawing comparisons to Earl Sweatshirt and MF Doom. Jae has produced for Flying Lotus, and L'Orange has worked on a series of premiere albums, including 2018's Marlowe. L'Orange's music has been featured on Adult Swim, The Tonight Show, Red Bull, advertisements for Moet Champagne, Cinema Sins and more.

Order Complicate Your Life With Violence here:
Praise for Complicate Your Life With Violence
"A prowling bass line, a draggy beat...a resolute foreboding" -New York Times
"A dystopian blend of cinematic and afro-futuristic sounds" - Consequence of Sound
"Jae lets loose a never-ending flow that punctuates jazzy, bassline heavy production from L'Orange." - The Fader
"A sinister and nearly psychedelic vibe" - Hypebeast
"Proving why they're one of the best tag-teams rap has to offer" -DJ Booth
"The duo conjure up a dark, twisted world where the past clashes with the future, and ruthless combat is necessary for survival. It's enough to drive anyone mad, but the constant struggle is life-affirming, and the album creatively illustrates this vicious cycle." -AllMusic, 3.5/5 stars

1. Part One: Introducing An Inconspicuous Man
2. Behavior Report
3. Say It All
4. Dead Battery
5. Part Two: Conscription Sentence
6. Summer Camp
7. Cool Hand (feat. Chester Watson)
8. Borrowed Brass (feat. Zeroh & Lojii)
9. Part Three: Hero Complex
10. My Everything Is Bulletproof
11. Clay Pigeons (feat. Billy Woods)
12. Devil's Piano
13. Part Four: Last One Left
14. After Alley Life
15. Ghost Town
16. The Light
17. Part Five: No Peace For The Peaceful

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0212901 secs // 4 () queries in 0.013502597808838 secs