Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Alternative 03/08/2020

The Maple State Digitally Release Their "Lost" 2005 Debut At Least Until We've Settled In For The First Time

The Maple State Digitally Release Their "Lost" 2005 Debut At Least Until We've Settled In For The First Time

Hot Songs Around The World

As It Was
Harry Styles
449 entries in 28 charts
First Class
Jack Harlow
244 entries in 20 charts
About Damn Time
183 entries in 21 charts
Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God)
Kate Bush
189 entries in 23 charts
Bam Bam
Camila Cabello & Ed Sheeran
375 entries in 26 charts
Cold Heart (Pnau Remix)
Elton John & Dua Lipa
923 entries in 27 charts
Imagine Dragons, JID & League Of Legends
419 entries in 23 charts
Where Are You Now
Lost Frequencies & Calum Scott
564 entries in 21 charts
Glass Animals
1098 entries in 25 charts
New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Originally released in 2005, At Least Until We've Settled In marked the beginning of a whirlwind few years for Manchester's The Maple State. The band are delighted to announce that an extended digital reissue of At Least Until We've Settled In is out now through all good digital service providers.

In 2005 the young band were still playing small punk-rock clubs and pubs across the north of England, when At Least Until We've Settled In found its way into the hands of some of the biggest names in the UK and US punk scenes - Mark Hoppus (Blink182), Brett Gurewitz (Bad Religion), and the late Andy Gill (Gang of Four) all became fans of the record. Legendary New Wave figure Seymour Stein (Sire Records) even flew over from New York to attend a show in London, leaving the promoter at the Water Rats Theatre rolling his eyes when the "unknown" Maple State put Mr Stein's name down on the guest-list.

Renowned for their energetic live performances, the following three years saw the band bombarded with tour offers both in the UK and further afield. They spent much of this period on the road with bands such as Motion City Soundtrack, +44, Frank Turner, Say Anything, Minus the Bear, Fightstar, The Academy Is.., and Get.Cape.Wear.Cape.Fly, helping them to cement a name as one of the UK's cult underground bands in their scene.

The band signed with Manchester Indie label High Voltage Sounds for their 2007 release, the Joanna EP recorded with Andy Gill (Gang of Four, Killing Joke, Red Hot Chili Peppers) and went on to release the critically acclaimed Say, Scientist EP in February 2008. They disbanded in early 2009, before returning in 2018 with a string of sold out UK dates and a new album The Things I Heard at the Party. Fast forward 2 years and singer Greg Counsell was sat at home during the Covid-19 lockdown—to pass the time he began posting a series of acoustic videos to the band's social media and taking requests for older songs from fans. The videos were well received by their loyal fanbase, with many asking for these old "lost" songs to be made available again.

In its original run At Least Until We've Settled In sold 3000 copies, but was only ever available to buy on CD at The Maple State shows during the mid 2000s. Responding to the requests from the fans, a furloughed Counsell set about remastering the old record, completing work on an additional 4 songs from the 2004-05 period, as well as recording 3 brand new acoustic reworkings of songs from the record.

Continually delighted by the ongoing interest in their output, the band are now working on new music and plan to hit the road again, once the world recovers from the ongoing pandemic.

At Least Until We've Settled In is released digitally on 30th July 2020

Track listing:
1. You can't put two hotels on Mayfair
2. The city is under martial law until we have annihilated them
3. Mightiest monster mightiest melodrama of them all
4. The fall of Shi Gau Rui
5. The first law of thermodynamics
6. Hazards of Russian convoys
7. Oh No, Figaro!
8. Curious Drive
9. Joanna
10. Get away
11. Mariner song
12. You can't put two hotels on Mayfair (Lockdown)
13. The fall of Shi Gau Rui (Lockdown)
14. Oh No, Figaro! (Lockdown)
All songs produced by Andrew Farrer & The Maple State
Artwork by Hammo

The Maple State are:
Gregory Counsell - vocals and guitars
Christian Counsell - guitar, bass and backing vocals
William Pearson - keyboard and backing vocals
Michael Westwood - drums

The Maple State online:

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2022 (S4)
about | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.9084370 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0065417289733887 secs