Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Oldies 03/09/2020

Universal Music Canada Announces 25th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue Of Renowned Canadian Singer/Songwriter Ron Sexsmith's 1995 Self-Titled Debut Album

Universal Music Canada Announces 25th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue Of Renowned Canadian Singer/Songwriter Ron Sexsmith's 1995 Self-Titled Debut Album

Hot Songs Around The World

Sam Smith & Kim Petras
205 entries in 25 charts
As It Was
Harry Styles
776 entries in 28 charts
James Hype & Miggy Dela Rosa
309 entries in 16 charts
Rosa Linn
233 entries in 17 charts
Nicky Youre & Dazy
182 entries in 13 charts
I Like You (A Happier Song)
Post Malone & Doja Cat
193 entries in 15 charts
I'm Good (Blue)
David Guetta & Bebe Rexha
302 entries in 26 charts
Calm Down
229 entries in 14 charts
Glimpse Of Us
189 entries in 18 charts
I Ain't Worried
367 entries in 23 charts
All I Want For Christmas Is You
Mariah Carey
1016 entries in 27 charts
Last Christmas
873 entries in 23 charts
New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Universal Music announces the 25th anniversary reissue of three-time JUNO Award winning Canadian singer-songwriter Ron Sexsmith's self-titled major label debut album. The mastered for vinyl reissue of Ron Sexsmith will be available on 180g vinyl on October 9.

Originally released in 1995 via Interscope Records under the renowned Jimmy Iovine and produced by Mitchell Froom, the album is regarded as Sexsmith's initial foray into the music scene beyond his backyard, or as he puts it, his "shy and awkward introduction to the world…my sparse, almost black and white debut." Ultimately, it became a record that secured Sexsmith's footing on the international stage and spurred a decades-long career as one of the greatest singer-songwriters in Canada and beyond.

Of the record's original release in 1995, Sexsmith reflects, "It never did break any sales records but it ended up on nearly every major critics year-end list in 1996 and gave me a leg to stand on. I was proud that the record we had made sounded like nothing else that particular year. It seemed like a perfect way to introduce myself to the world. Even the very first chord you hear is slightly out of tune which seemed appropriate."

For the 25th anniversary reissue, Sexsmith was able to restore the tracklist to his original vision for the album. He explains, "You may notice that unlike the original CD version, the vinyl does not include the Lanois version of 'There's A Rhythm' which closed the record. You may even be disappointed about that, but you see I'd always meant for the record to end with 'Galbraith Street' and at the time it saddened me that Interscope had tacked on this other version of 'There's a Rhythm' at the end for reasons I won't get into here. I liked the version, but it always stuck out like a sore thumb for me. So now after 25 years I finally get to put out the record the way it was originally meant to be which I'm very happy about."

The 25th anniversary limited edition 180g black vinyl reissue of Ron Sexsmith features 13 original songs, all written by Sexsmith himself, including the hit single "Secret Heart" which remains one of Ron's top streaming tracks. See tracklisting below.

Ron Sexsmith - Vinyl Reissue Tracklist:

1. "Secret Heart"
2. "There's a Rhythm"
3. "Words We Never Use"
4. "Summer Blowin' Town"
5. "Lebanon, Tennessee"
6. "Speaking with the Angel"

7. "In Place of You"
8. "Heart with No Companion"
9. "Several Miles"
10. "From a Few Streets Over"
11. "First Chance I Get"
12. "Wastin' Time"
13. "Galbraith Street"

Hailing from St. Catharines, Ontario, Canadian troubadour Ron Sexsmith began releasing recordings of his own material in 1985 at age 21. He has since recorded fifteen albums, was the subject of the 2010 documentary Love Shines, and is a three-time JUNO Award winner, including Songwriter of the Year award in 2005.

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2022 (S4)
about | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.4725640 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0053191184997559 secs