Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 31/08/2005

Juliet Emerges From 'Avalon' With Highly Anticipated Debut Album; 'Random Order' Arrives In Stores This Week As New Single

NEW YORK (Virgin Records) - Virgin Records has announced the release of "RANDOM ORDER," the eagerly awaited debut album from Juliet. The album - which features the worldwide club smash, "Avalon" - arrived in stores coast to coast on August 30th.

"RANDOM ORDER" is a true tour de force for the 25-year-old Juliet, blending cool pop, pulsing New Wave, dancefloor beats, and future-facing electronic intensity, all given breath by the London-based, Pennsylvania-native's distinctively intimate lyricism and complex vocal charisma.
Tracks such as "Ride The Pain" - the album's current hit single - or the raw, romantic "New Shoes" reverberate with extraordinary energy and emotion, introducing Juliet as a mature and provocative singer and songwriter, only just beginning to get in touch with her ample artistic powers.

"RANDOM ORDER" was produced in collaboration with Grammy Award winner Stuart Price (aka Jacques Lu Cont of Les Rythmes Digitales and Zoot Woman fame, known for his studio work with Madonna and No Doubt as well as hit remixes for New Order and the Killers), with additional production from Jacknife Lee (U2, Pink, TLC) and Guy Sigsworth (Bjork, Madonna, Seal).

Juliet has already been hailed around the globe as among 2005's most singular and striking new talents. The 25-year-old Pennsylvania native first made waves as a member of late-90s synth-pop outfit, 1 Plus 1. Taking inspiration from influences spanning Radiohead and My Bloody Valentine to Daft Punk and Jeff Buckley, Juliet reemerged in early 2005 with her startlingly original debut single, "Avalon." The haunting and propulsive track caused an immediate commotion, winning over DJs around the world, garnering airplay from Los Angeles to Miami to London.

As a result, "Avalon" reached the No 1 spot on Billboard's "Hot Dance Music/Club Play" chart, as well as the UK's influential DMC Buzz Chart, the weekly ranking of hot club tracks. The song -- which included renowned British DJ Pete Tong among its champions -- also received glowing press acclaim, with praise coming from such noteworthy publications as MixMag, the New York Times, Interview, Nylon, DJ Times, the Observer, Elle Girl, and the Sunday Times, among others.

"Ride The Pain," the second single from "RANDOM ORDER," is already looking certain to continue Juliet's climb towards stardom. The powerful rock-textured track recently topped Billboard's "Hot Dance Music/Club Play" chart, and remains a top 10 sensation.

An authentic and imaginative live performer, Juliet recently electrified audiences across North America in her role as special guest on Duran Duran's SRO spring arena tour. She is set to herald the release of "RANDOM ORDER" with a series of East Coast residencies, making weekly live appearances in New York, Boston, and her native Philadelphia throughout the month of September (see attached itinerary). Additional dates across the country will be unveiled in the coming weeks.


7 New York, NY Rothko
10 Philadelphia, PA World Cafe Upstairs
12 Boston, MA Paradise Lounge
17 Philadelphia, PA World Cafe Upstairs
19 Boston, MA Paradise Lounge
21 New York, NY Rothko
24 Philadelphia, PA World Cafe Upstairs
26 Boston, MA Paradise Lounge
28 New York, NY Rothko

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.8708429 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0073399543762207 secs