Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Jazz 17/11/2023

Vocal Supergroup Saje Shares Animated Video For Their Grammy-Nominated Rendition Of "In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning" Ft. Jacob Collier

Hot Songs Around The World

Kenya Grace
247 entries in 24 charts
Paint The Town Red
Doja Cat
350 entries in 28 charts
Tate McRae
265 entries in 26 charts
Casso, Raye & D-Block Europe
266 entries in 19 charts
Dua Lipa
57 entries in 23 charts
Calm Down
967 entries in 23 charts
Taylor Swift
210 entries in 15 charts
Until I Found You
Stephen Sanchez
191 entries in 16 charts
Cruel Summer
Taylor Swift
369 entries in 20 charts
All I Want For Christmas Is You
Mariah Carey
1182 entries in 28 charts
Last Christmas
1031 entries in 25 charts
Taylor Swift
585 entries in 23 charts
Atemlos Durch Die Nacht
Helene Fischer
438 entries in 7 charts
359 entries in 22 charts
New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Today, vocal supergroup säje shared a Hoda Ramy-animated music video for their "sublime" (Forbes) rendition of "In The Wee Small Hours of the Morning" featuring Jacob Collier. Last week, the song was nominated for a GRAMMY Award in the Best Arrangement, Instruments and Vocals category. The video was further praised by Forbes who called it "beautiful" and "trippy." The track comes from their self-titled, self-funded, self-produced and self-released debut full-length, which has earned acclaim from Billboard, Top40-Charts, WRTI, Jazziz, KNKX, Grimy Goods, Downbeat and more. säje is made up of Los Angeles-based Sara Gazarek and Erin Bentlage and Seattle-situated Johnaye Kendrick and Amanda Taylor.

The recent GRAMMY nomination is the second so far for säje - the group first generated buzz in 2020 when their debut single "Desert Song" was nominated for a GRAMMY. säje's debut full-length features finely wrought originals, reimagined jazz standards and inventive interpretations of contemporary tunes such as Stevie Wonder's "I Can't Help It." In addition to Collier, guests on the album include vocalist Michael Mayo, pianist Dawn Clement, drummer Christian Euman, trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, drummer and NEA Jazz Master Terri Lyne Carrington, tenor saxophonist Daniel Rotem and bassist Ben Williams.

When a jazz ensemble earns a GRAMMY nomination with its very first song and the John Lennon Songwriting Contest Grand Prize for its second composition, something unusual is in the works. Magic is a word that comes up often when the women of säje talk about the group's founding and evolution, and the story of their first single, "Desert Song," has attained near legendary status. Early in the group's journey, the women took a retreat in Palm Springs where they formed closer bonds and experienced a creative breakthrough. This energy resurfaced when they had the opportunity to perform at the Jazz Education Network Conference in New Orleans, which then led the women to quickly create an entire set of new material, much of which makes up the debut album.

When you look at the accomplishments of the women in säje, their individual virtuosity and singular chemistry starts to make sense. Erin Bentlage has been featured on albums by Jacob Collier (Djesse Vol. 3), Kiefer (When There's Love Around), Kate McGarry (What To Wear In The Dark) and Amber Navran (their collaboration Golden Light). Amanda Taylor is a GRAMMY-nominated arranger known for her work with leading vocal ensembles, including Groove for Thought, The Manhattan Transfer, Chanticleer and Kings Return. Johnaye Kendrick has honed a deep repertoire of originals and inventively arranged standards, jazz tunes and contemporary pop songs, having released two albums on her record label johnygirl, 2014's Here and 2018's acclaimed Flying. Sara Gazarek is a two-time GRAMMY nominee for her solo albums, and is widely considered one of her generation's definitive jazz vocalists.

Track listing:
1. Desert Song
2. (You Are) The Oracle (feat. Michael Mayo)
3. Never You Mind (feat. Ambrose Akinmusire)
4. In The Wee Small Hours of the Morning (feat. Jacob Collier)
5. Britches
6. Wisteria
7. I Can't Help It
8. As This Moment Slips Away (feat. Terri Lyne Carrington & Daniel Rotem)
9. Evergreen
10. Solid Ground/Blackbird

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2023 (S4)
about | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0086970 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0043201446533203 secs