Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Alternative 12/01/2024

The Noise Who Runs Defies Populism On New 'Come And Join The Beautiful' Army' EP Ft. Ian Pickering (Sneaker Pimps)

Hot Songs Around The World

We Can't Be Friends (Wait For Your Love)
Ariana Grande
203 entries in 24 charts
Taylor Swift & Post Malone
142 entries in 25 charts
End Of Beginning
233 entries in 22 charts
I Like The Way You Kiss Me
238 entries in 25 charts
Stumblin' In
191 entries in 16 charts
Beautiful Things
Benson Boone
438 entries in 26 charts
Too Sweet
210 entries in 22 charts
Lose Control
Teddy Swims
564 entries in 25 charts
Sabrina Carpenter
171 entries in 26 charts
Grustnyi Dens
Artik & Asti
174 entries in 2 charts
Texas Hold 'Em
279 entries in 23 charts
Until I Found You
Stephen Sanchez
238 entries in 16 charts
Natasha Bedingfield
340 entries in 22 charts
Cruel Summer
Taylor Swift
647 entries in 20 charts
The Noise Who Runs Defies Populism On New 'Come And Join The Beautiful' Army' EP Ft. Ian Pickering (Sneaker Pimps)
New York, NY (Top40 Charts) UK-France duo The Noise Who Runs comes out fighting in 2024 with their new five-song EP 'Come and Join the Beautiful Army' EP. This dark, brooding and sometimes disquieting collection straddles the line between hope and despair, defeat and optimism. These contradictions are embodied in the more full-on electronic approach with a stripped, more keyboard-oriented sound largely absent of any overt electric guitars, and the almost casual, nursery rhyme abstract cynicism of the lyrics.

The Noise Who Runs revolves around songwriter Ian Pickering (of Sneaker Pimps and Front Line Assembly). Native to Hartlepool in the north-east of England, Pickering co-authored such Sneaker Pimps hits as 'Spin Spin Sugar', '6 Underground' and 'Tesko Suicide'. In 2019, he launched this project with Brazilian-French guitarist Felipe Goes, three years after relocating to Lille, France.

Mixed and mastered by Colin C at The Cell Studio, this album follows their debut album 'Preteretrospective', released in April 2023 to rave reviews and airplay in more than 40 countries. Earlier, The Noise Who Runs released the singles 'One Scratch Each', 'Mars Attached' and 'Tune Out, Turn Off, Drop In'.

Guitarist Felipe Goes says: "I don't know where the guitars went. I think the amount of guitar that ends up in a song depends on how angry, sad, or whatever I feel. I believe this is the kind of thing that gives me the energy to keep playing and finding new ways to make the songs work. I guess I must have made peace with the world since there's almost no guitar in any of these songs! Rather ironic isn't it? Lyrically, this EP is the opposite of peaceful!".

Lyrics, arguably, are Pickering's greatest strength and certainly the songs on 'Come and Join the Beautiful Army' only add to his reputation. Here we have genuine poetry; insightful, disarming, original and unique.

"This EP is a call for solidarity in a world constantly being sown with division and discord. So far, the start of the 21st Century seems remarkably like repeating the mistakes of the early 20th Century. In the First World War, all that flag-waving, jingoistic sense of and pride in nationality across Europe, the othering of governments and nations all engaged in the same exploitation of other continents, resulted in the most obscene and needless carnage and it feels today as if nothing has changed, save that rather than conscript us all and send us to France and Belgium for the slaughter, the big push would appear to be starving us to death in our own homes while we work all the hours of the day for a monthly wage that barely covers the cost of living," says Ian Pickering.

"The beautiful army would be the people who reject the pathetic culture wars of populists, who proceed with compassion and empathy rather than instantly resort to knee-jerk outrage and sincerely believe that the some kind of optimistic future can still be salvaged from the slow motion chaos of the inevitable car crash in which we are currently forced to be passengers."

He adds, "I would question the obsession of brands, marketing and advertising, primarily, on pushing such a vain, shallow concept of the individual - it's a face-value, nothing beneath the surface kind of ideal. We are all born individuals, that should never need to be overtly demonstrated and insisted upon, it's quite obviously what we all are. It can't be proved with trinkets and adornments. The more salient point would be how we all come together as individuals and make a difference, a change for the better for the majority. Maybe the beautiful army lies in the forests away from the trenches; deserters, conscientious objectors and those that have been driven shellshock mad by the constant, oppressive noise of manufactured, idiotic right-wing culture wars."
'Come and Join The Beautiful Army' is out on January 12 from fine music platforms, including Spotify, Apple Music and Bandcamp.

1 One Scratch Each
2 Tune Out, Turn Off, Drop In
3 Something in the Bones of Men
4 Vengeance is the Sweetener
5 Mars Attached

All songs written by Ian Pickering
Recorded and produced by The Noise Who Runs
Felipe Goes - guitars, pianos, keyboards
Ian Pickering - vocals, keyboards, pianos, beats
Mixing, mastering and additional production by Colin C. at The Cell Studio
Artist photos by √Člodie Duhoo
Original front cover illustration 'The Marching Boots' by Alex Armitage.

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2024 (S6)
about | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.4139800 secs // 4 () queries in 0.028091907501221 secs