Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 06/02/2024

London-Liverpool Lovechild James Clarke Five Presents 'Gadfly Groove' Single Ahead Of New Album

Hot Songs Around The World

Si No Estas
Inigo Quintero
257 entries in 17 charts
Kenya Grace
407 entries in 24 charts
Taylor Swift
602 entries in 23 charts
Stick Season
Noah Kahan
247 entries in 17 charts
Lovin On Me
Jack Harlow
246 entries in 22 charts
Yes, And?
Ariana Grande
109 entries in 26 charts
Casso, Raye & D-Block Europe
427 entries in 19 charts
Tate McRae
532 entries in 28 charts
Lose Control
Teddy Swims
232 entries in 23 charts
Natasha Bedingfield
254 entries in 21 charts
Vois Sur Ton Chemin
197 entries in 9 charts
Murder On The Dancefloor
Sophie Ellis Bextor
372 entries in 23 charts
Dua Lipa
240 entries in 26 charts
Weeknd, Playboi Carti & Madonna
245 entries in 18 charts
London-Liverpool Lovechild James Clarke Five Presents 'Gadfly Groove' Single Ahead Of New Album
New York, NY (Top40 Charts) UK indie rock artist James Clarke Five presents the new single 'Gadfly Groove', previewing the album 'Zoom and The Gadflies' (out March 15 via Favourite Recordings). Celebrating the personal transformation of a quiet, tentative introvert to an outgoing, gadfly-like persona, ths song presents uplifting crunchy guitars and a blistering sax solo. Ultimately a butterfly emerges!

Much like Cocteau Twins was not actually a duo, James Clarke Five is the solo project of James Hughes. He is perhaps best known as keyboardist and vocalist for Liverpool 80's new wave band The Cherry Boys, contemporaries of Echo & The Bunnymen and The Teardrop Explodes, whose members also played with The LA's, Cast, The Icicle Works and Lightning Seeds. With a slight resemblance to The Fall's Mark E. Smith, Hughes now lives in London.
"I was almost 'channelling' the sound of T Rex / glam-era Bowie with this song, and I gave it a carefree, slightly camp lyric to compliment the sound. I think the raunchy sax solo tops it off nicely!" says James Clarke.

With sometimes story-driven or politically-edged lyrics, James Clarke Five mixes classic baroque pop with strong melodies and distinctive chord changes, but with a more raw, guitar driven sound with overtones of glam rock and psychedelia. The new album also includes some clear nods to XTC, Adam and the Ants and Joe Meek.

'Gadfly Groove' comes hot on the heels of '(Who's Been On The) Big Rock Candy', which tells the story of a couple who pursue increasingly daring deeds from roller coaster rides and cliff edges to runaway trains, all to a pounding, feedback-driven backdrop.

At the age of 12, James Hughes picked up a guitar, which he has scarcely put down since. Following The Cherry Boys, Hughes was a founder member of Exhibit B, who released the cult classic album 'Playing Dead' and several singles.

Upon moving to London in the early 2000s, Hughes launched James Clarke Five with the barnstorming single 'Get Out Of Bed' and later found success with his song 'Sexbombe Uber Alles', the main theme of the film 'Last Shop Standing'. Their most recent albums 'Underneath The Lemon Tree' (2021) and 'ParlourSounds' (2018), released by iconic Canadian label The Beautiful Music, garnered rave reviews. His music has also appeared in the film 'Soundtrack to Sixteen' and has amassed over 1.25 million Spotify streams to date.

Recorded in James's home studio in London, James produced and mastered this album. He performed all instruments and vocals with the exception of Mack The Sax, who plays saxophone on 'Gadfly Groove' and Karen Bates, who provides backing vocals on 'It's Been So Long'.

As of February 2, 'Gadfly Groove' will be available from fine digital platforms, including Spotify, Apple and Bandcamp. The full 'Zoom and The Gadflies' album will be released on March 15 via Favourite Recordings.

1. (Who's Been On The) Big Rock Candy
2. D'You Not Think?
3. Gadfly Groove
4. Ghost
5. Pineapple Rock
6. Manhattan Pigeon
7. Hot Chicory Bop
8. It's Been So Long
9. Zoomdust
10. Buddy and Joe
11. Goodbye Patience

All songs written by James Clarke (AKA James Hughes), except 'It's Been So Long' by Donaldson / Adamson
Karen Bates - backing vocals on track 8
Mac The Sax - saxophone on track 3
All other instruments and vocals by James Clarke
Produced by James Clarke
Cover artwork by James Clarke

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2024 (S4)
about | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0081570 secs // 4 () queries in 0.003964900970459 secs