Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Oldies 18/07/2002

Elvis Presley, R. Orbison, J. Lee Lewis & Others On Sun Records Compilation

NEW YORK (Top40 Charts) - Elvis Presley, Roy Orbison, Jerry Lee Lewis, and Carl Perkins highlight a two-disc set chronicling the history of Sun Records. Sun Records 50th Anniversary, due August 6 from BMG Heritage, features 44 tracks from producer Sam Phillips's famed Memphis label.

The compilation includes Presley's "Mystery Train," Orbison's "Ooby Dooby," Johnny Cash's "Folsom Prison Blues," and Perkins's "Blue Suede Shoes." The set will also feature some of the label's earliest recordings, including its first release, "Driving Slow" by saxophone player Johnny London.

Disc One of Sun Records 50th Anniversary includes: "Drivin' Slow" by Johnny London, "We All Gotta Go Sometime" by Joe Hill Louis, "Easy" by Jimmy & Walter, "Just Walkin' In The Rain" by the Prisonaires, "Feelin' Good" by Little Junior's Blue Flames, "Tiger Man (King Of The Jungle)" by Rufus Thomas, "Mystery Train" by Little Junior's Blue Flames, "Lookin' For My Baby" by Little Milton, "The Boogie Disease" by Doctor Ross, "Cotton Crop Blues" by James Cotton, "I'm Gonna Murder My Baby" by Pat Hare, "Rockin' Chair Daddy" by Harmonica Frank, "That's All Right" by Elvis Presley, Scotty & Bill, "I Feel So Worried" by Sammy Lewis with Willie Johnson, "Red Hot" by Billy "The Kid" Emerson, "Peepin' Eyes" by Charlie Feathers, "Mystery Train" Elvis Presley, Scotty & Bill, "Folsom Prison Blues" by Johnny Cash & the Tennessee Two, "Blue Suede Shoes" by Carl Perkins, "Rock & Roll Ruby" by Warren Smith, "Slow Down" by Jack Earls, and "I Walk The Line" Johnny Cash & the Tennessee Two.

Disc Two of Sun Records 50th Anniversary includes: "Ooby Dooby" by Roy Orbison & Teen Kings, "Red Headed Woman" by Sonny Burgess, "Shoobie Oobie" by Rosco Gordon, "Come On Little Mama" by Gene Simmons, "Feelin' Low" by Ernie Chaffin, "Flying Saucers R'n'R" by Billy Riley & his Little Green Men, "Matchbox" by Carl Perkins, "Love My Baby" by Hayden Thompson, "Whole Lot Of Shakin' Going On" by Jerry Lee Lewis, "Rock Boppin' Baby" by Ed Bruce, "Raunchy" by Bill Justis & his Orchestra, "A Cat Called Domino" by Roy Orbison, "Red Cadillac And A Black Moustache" by Warren Smith, "High School Confidential" by Jerry Lee Lewis, "Shake Around" by Tommy Blake, "One More Time" by Billy Riley, "Mona Lisa" by Carl Mann, "Lonely Weekends" by Charlie Rich, "Big Dream" by Rayburn Anthony, "Who Will The Next Fool Be" by Charlie Rich, and "Cadillac Man" by the Jesters.

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.7510991 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0072801113128662 secs