Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 03/03/2011

Magic Chairs By Efterklang Wins First Impala European Independent Album Of The Year Award

Magic Chairs By Efterklang Wins First Impala European Independent Album Of The Year Award

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ IMPALA Music) Efterklang's third full-length album, Magic Chairs, has won the first IMPALA European Independent Album of the Year Award from a shortlist of 21 albums from across Europe, covering genres such as electronica (Underworld), Norweigan folk (Bjorn Eidsvag), soul (Asa), Finnish rap (Paleface) and surf rock (The Bambi Molesters).

Magic Chairs is the Danish band's first album on the UK's seminal 4AD label, who released the record globally in February 2010, with the band's own label, Rumraket, releasing the album in Scandinavia. The record was mixed by Gareth Jones, famed for his work with Depeche Mode, Nick Cave and Grizzly Bear.

Magic Chairs has been described as "exemplary escapism" (BBC Music Review), containing "subtle tension and lurking drama", combined with "heartbreaking melody" (The Guardian). Their "arresting, wistful songwriting style" (Mojo) has captivated audiences throughout Europe, making this orchestral masterpiece truly deserving of the title "Album of the Year". Other exceptional artists that were up for the award included Caro Emerald, The National, Delorean and Agnes Obel.

Most read news of the week
Avril Lavigne Announces Australian Tour Dates For March 2011!
FX'x Justified Tv Show To Include 5 Songs By Cumberland River Band
CMA Announces Bobby Braddock, Reba Mcentire, And Jean Shepard As Newest Members Of Country Music Hall Of Fame
The Downtown Fiction Announces 'Let's Be Animals Tour 2011'
Eminem & Arctic Monkeys To Headline V Festival 2011
Leon Russell's Top Tracks Gathered For 'The Best Of Leon Russell,' To Be Released On April 5, 2011
Chris Brown's 'F.A.M.E.' In Stores On March 22, 2011
Mtv And Sony ATV's Extreme Music To Launch Hype Production Music
Vanessa Carlton Signs With Razor & Tie, New Album Out On 6/21
Cat's Eyes (New Duo From The Horrors' Faris Badwan) Announce US Dates!
Trash A GoGo With Mongolian Rock Band The Lemons
Folk Music Legend Pete Seeger Endorses Boycott Of Israel
Zac Brown Band's First Southern Ground Music And Food Festival Storms Clemson, April 8-10
Jordan Knight, Lead Singer Of New Kids On The Block, Launches His Own Label Imprint, JK Music, With Debut Of New Solo Single 'Let's Go Higher'
Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside To Release Debut LP 'Dirty Radio' May 24 Via Partisan Records

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0318429 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0074241161346436 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how