Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address

Elektra Records Debuts 'Boardwalk Empire Volume 1 - Music From The HBO Original Series'

Elektra Records Debuts 'Boardwalk Empire Volume 1 - Music From The HBO Original Series'
NEW YORK, NY (Top40 Charts/ Elektra Records) Elektra Records has announced the forthcoming release of "BOARDWALK EMPIRE VOLUME 1 - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES," the soundtrack to the critically acclaimed series from Terence Winter, Emmy Award winning writer of The Sopranos, and Academy Award winning director Martin Scorsese (The Departed). The collection arrives in stores and all DSPs on September 13th, just in time for the highly anticipated second season premiere of the series on HBO on September 25th. The soundtrack will be available for pre-sale through and on August 10th. A digital deluxe version of the soundtrack with exclusive bonus tracks will be available as well.

"BOARDWALK EMPIRE VOLUME 1 - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES" features music from the first season and upcoming second season of the show. The Prohibition-era soundtrack, produced by the series' music supervisor Randall Poster, is comprised of original music from the 1920s exclusively rerecorded by top contemporary artists such as Regina Spektor, Loudon Wainwright III, Martha Wainwright, Catherine Russell, Nellie McKay and Leon Redbone (see tracklisting below). Regina Spektor's version of "My Man," originally made popular in 1921 by Ziegfeld Follies singer Fanny Brice, can be heard streaming exclusively on (

With an uninhibited imagination and acute sense of detail both in music and words, Regina Spektor has gone from practicing on an out-of-tune piano in the basement of her local synagogue to hypnotizing small crowds in NYC's lower East Side to selling out venues like New York's Radio City Music Hall worldwide. Spektor's last studio album "far" (2009) was released to an overwhelming response from both fans and critics. In addition to lending her version of "My Man" to "BOARDWALK EMPIRE VOLUME 1 - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES," Regina is also completing the score for the upcoming musical, "Beauty," and recording a new album for Sire Records.

The show features famous, real-life musical characters from the time period such as vaudeville star Eddie Cantor played by Stephen DeRosa and singer/actress Sophie Tucker played by Hairspray's Kathy Brier. Each actor/singer contributes to "BOARDWALK EMPIRE VOLUME 1 - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES" contemporary versions of the songs made popular by these 1920s musicians. What's more, current day New York jazz band Vince Giordano and The Nighthawks appear regularly on the series as the house band at Babette's Nightclub, and the group contributes five modern-day renditions of popular songs from the era.

"BOARDWALK EMPIRE VOLUME 1 - MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES," will be available in stores and all digital retailers as well as at the HBO Shop at 42nd Street and 6th Avenue, New York, and

America in 1920: The Great War was over, Wall Street was about to boom and everything was for sale, even the World Series. It was a time of change when women got the vote, broadcast radio began and young people ruled the world. From Terence Winter, Emmy Award-winning writer of "The Sopranos" and Academy Award-winning director Martin Scorsese, Boardwalk Empire is set in Atlantic City at the dawn of Prohibition, when the sale of alcohol became illegal throughout the United States.
For more information, please visit or

HBO Licensing & Retail officially licenses the HBO brand for the development and merchandising of innovative product lines inspired by the network's award-winning programming. With products created around classic series like the The Sopranos and Sex and the City to current hits like True Blood and Entourage, items include fashion apparel, jewelry, digital and CD soundtracks, games, books as well as exclusive, premium collections in partnership with upscale, designer brands. Merchandise can be purchased in retail stores nationwide, at, and at the groundbreaking HBO retail hub, the HBO Shop, located at 42nd and 6th Avenue in New York City. HBO Licensing & Retail products are also sold internationally across Europe, Asia and Australia.

(Elektra Records)
Available digitally and in stores September 13th

1. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks - Livery Stable Blues
2. Stephen DeRosa - The Dumber They Come The Better I Like Them
3. Regina Spektor - My Man
4. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks - Dark Town Strutters Ball
5. Catherine Russell - Crazy Blues
6. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks - Mournin' Blues
7. Kathy Brier - Some Of These Days
8. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks - Margie
9. Loudon Wainwright III - Carrickfergus
10. Nellie McKay - Wild Romantic Blues
11. Kathy Brier - After You Get What You Want (You Don't Want It)
12. Leon Redbone - Sheik of Araby
13. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks - Japanese Sandman
14. Kathy Brier - Don't Put a Tax On the Beautiful Girls
15. Martha Wainwright - All By Myself
16. Stephen DeRosa - Life Is A Funny Proposition

Bonus tracks included on digital deluxe version:
1. Lauren Sharpe - Japanese Sandman (uke version)
2. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks - Maple Leaf Rag
3. Amber Edwards - Alice Blue Gown
4. Mark Shane - Harlem Strut

Most read news of the week
Gospel Singer, Genita Pugh, Releases New Single 'Can't Live', Album Out Now
Revolver Magazine's New Issue Features Such Bands As Five Finger Death Punch, Avenged Sevenfold, Disturbed, And Godsmack Saluting The Armed Forces
Michael Sweet Departs Legendary Rock Band Boston To Devote Full Attention To His Longstanding Role As Frontman Of Re-emerging Rock Band Stryper
Soundtrack For Focus Features' Romance One Day, Starring Anne Hathaway And Jim Sturgess, Features New Song From Elvis Costello
Silva Screen Records August Digital Releases
Enrique Iglesias Dazzles Music Fans At MTV Live Georgia In Batumi
2011 Tanglewood Labor Day Weekend Jazz Festival, September 2-4
Garage/surf Rock Songs Based On Strange Items Sold In Old Comic Books!
Joss Stone's Top Hits Gathered For The First Time For 'Super Duper Hits: The Best Of Joss Stone,' To Be Released September 27, 2011

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0171859 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0090658664703369 secs