Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 15/11/2011

Macedo's Debut Album "Flags & Boxes" Out Now

Macedo's Debut Album "Flags & Boxes" Out Now

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ SILVERLAKE MEDIA) Los Angeles-based singer songwriter Michelle Macedo and her twin sister Melissa, aka MACEDO, are gearing up to introduce their compelling and richly textured eponymous debut album, FLAGS AND BOXES, just out on Moon Gold Records. Anchored by the emotionally complex songwriting and magnetic vocals of Michelle, FLAGS AND BOXES is a strikingly assured showcase for the young duo. Born in Pasadena, California, the two have put together a stunning debut with the help of producer Kush Mody (Serial Buddies) and mixer Justin Gerrish (MGMT, Vampire Weekend). The album was mastered by Fred Kevorkian (Regina Spektor) and Nils Montan was engineer. MACEDO's debut single "Caught" will be promoted to Non Comm radio beginning November 21st. The radio edit was produced by Khris Kellow (Christina Aguilera), mixed by Mario Luccy (RealSongs) and mastered by Randy Sharp (Dixie Chicks). FLAGS AND BOXES is available everywhere on Moon Gold Records.

The gorgeously simple production belies accomplished musicianship—each verse in any given song is unerringly accompanied by a spare yet rich grand piano, perhaps a cello or violin, French horn, organ and even a Wurlitzer. Michelle's voice, which cuts a clear and sharp swathe through the emotionally thick lyrics describing themes of love, loss and identity, is redolent of so many accomplished singers.

Grammy nominated singer songwriter Matraca Berg notes: "Such a warm and unique voice—a little post-modern Billie Holiday with a hint of Joni Mitchell. The tracks are tasty but lean and they give her just the right amount of space to let that shine through."

Michelle plays piano and guitar and Melissa provides vocal harmonies. Accompanying musicians include Kush Moody (piano, Wurlitzer, organ, bass, drums), Nate Mondschein (drums), Hannah Skinner (violin), Keith Ukrisna (viola), Rosle Samter (viola), Molly Aronson (cello), Andrew Oedel (guitar), Darby Wolf (organ), Dan Rehm (bass), Rosie Gradoville (cello) and Amparo Edo Blol (French horn).

Track Listing:
1) I Help Myself
2) Collect My Thoughts
3) Have Some Company
4) City Lights
5) Caught
6) Ghost
7) Know When You're Around
8) Nobody's Perfect (After All)
9) My Fault
10) No One else
11) Winter Time
12) Say Goodnight
13) Caught (Radio Edit)

Most read news of the week
'60s Music Icons Davy Jones Of The Monkees And Peter Noone Of Herman's Hermits Present An All-star Lineup Of Hits In New
Stephanie Eason Band To Join Colt Ford For Fall 2011 Tour Dates
Duets, Because Two's Company... (Americana/Indie/Brit-Pop) - Fresh MP3
Songs Of Anarchy: Music From Sons Of Anarchy Seasons 1-4 In Stores November 29
RAMMSTEIN Confirms North American Tour 2012
Motley Crue Heads To The UK Bringing Tommy Lee's 360 Degree Drum Rollercoaster
J Boog Backyard Boogie World Tour Kicks Off In Europe
Help 4 Jeff Golub Online Charity Auction
Italian Jazz Musician Daniela D'Ercole Killed When Hit By Car

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0253360 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0020434856414795 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how