Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 22/06/2004

'CSI: Miami' (soundtrack) will be release June 29 featuring Massive Attack, Lamb, Bent, Lemon Jelly, Ill Nino, Doves, FC Kahuna, Citizen Cope and more

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

LOS ANGELES (Hip-O/UMe Records) - From trip-hop to Britpop, downbeat to Latin metal, CSI: MIAMI THE SOUNDTRACK (Hip-O/UMe), released June 29, 2004, is as edgy and evocative as the TV series from which it has been spawned. Not surprisingly then, the CBS show won both the 2003 People's Choice Award for Favorite Television New Dramatic Series and a 2003 BMI TV Music Award.
With the series' hit second season just concluded, CSI: MIAMI THE SOUNDTRACK brings together both the well-known and the little-known for a rare TV soundtrack album that dares to raise up the underground.

Along with one immortal rock artist, The Who - whose "Won't Get Fooled Again" is the series theme song opening each episode - the album's most familiar artists are Oasis and Massive Attack. One of the U.K.'s most popular bands of the '90s, Manchester's Oasis resurrected British guitar pop and mixed it with punk attitude (the epic "The Masterplan" appeared on the 1998 B-side collection MASTERPLAN).

Massive Attack pioneered trip-hop, influencing a generation of dance music artists ("Everywhen" was heard on its 2003 album 100TH WINDOW). Perhaps some Americans also have a notion of Ian Brown, who fronted the revered U.K. band the
Stone Roses and is heard with "Forever And A Day" from his 2001 MUSIC OF THE SPHERES solo disc.

But the rest of CSI: MIAMI THE SOUNDTRACK is pure revelation. Lamb, one of electronica's most innovative groups, is a downtempo vocals-oriented drum'n'bass duo from Manchester ("Gabriel" is a radio edit of the track on 2001's WHAT SOUND).
Baxter, from Sweden, also combines pop song structures with drum'n'bass, as on "Gonna Make It There" from their 2002 ABOUT THIS album.
Again from Manchester is epic pop trio Doves, whose cheery 2002 album LAST BROADCAST featured "Satellites."
Martina Topley Bird is the long-time Tricky diva who made her solo debut on 2003's chill-out QUIXOTIC, which included "Need One."
FC Kahuna elevated the Big Beat in the London club scene and scored with 2002's MACHINE SAYS YES and its chill-out hit "Hayling."
Bent, much respected in England but unknown beyond dance circles elsewhere, traffics in mid-tempo beats and chilled atmospheres on their 2000 PROGRAMMED TO LOVE debut, which includes "Invisible Pedestrian."
Lemon Jelly's downtempo for the new acid generation was heard on 2000's LEMONJELLY .KY with "A Tune For Jack."
Nitin Sawhney fuses electronica with Indian culture throughout his 2003 album HUMAN, including "Say Hello."

In fact, there are only two American artists on CSI: MIAMI THE SOUNDTRACK: New Jersey-based Latin metal sextet Ill Nino, whose "I Am Loco" graced their 2001 debut REVOLUTION REVOLUCION, and Citizen Cope, whose hypnotic street music, exemplified by "Let The Drummer Kick It," defined its self-titled 2002 album.

Most read news of the week
Single reviews released 21 June 2004
Singer-songwriter Laetitia 'Kore' Aby, completes her debut album 'Birth of Rugged-Soul'
'Motorcycle Mania 3' soundtrack/collection features tracks from Kid Rock, Cypress Hill, Danzig and more
Opera Nova presents unprecedented musical event with 'Living Legends Of Latin Music' at John Anson Ford theater
A statement is being issued by Jennifer Lopez: Simon Fields (and not Tommy Mottola) will continue to be my partner/manager
Money Yung'N Records present the new album release 'Now Or never' of New Orleans underground legends Sqad Up!
PBS documentary puts singer-songwriter Ned Evett and his fretless glass guitar on national stage
2004 MMVAs full winners list
Album Of The Week: Velvet Revolver
The Dre Allen Project featuring Dawn Robinson from En Vogue
Country greats sing their greatest hits on the Gulf TV series
Fan Fair goes wild when Shiloh, The Band hits the stage
Faithless new album debuts at No 1 on the UK Albums Chart this week and the Britain's premier musical collective band will release 'No Roots' in the US on July 20th
'Ojos De Brujo' CD hits top 15 in Billboard World Music Chart
Rick Spreitzer from Charlotte set to release new collection of songs

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0658960 secs // 4 () queries in 0.042870759963989 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how