Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Movies 08/03/2012

Soundtrack From Bob Marley Movie 'Marley' To Be Released On April 17, 2012

Soundtrack From Bob Marley Movie 'Marley' To Be Released On April 17, 2012

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ Universal Music Enterprises) The Third World's first superstar and arguably the most recognizable human being on the planet, reggae giant BOB MARLEY is celebrated this year in a film by Academy Award-winning director Kevin Macdonald ("One Day In September," "State Of Play," "The Last King Of Scotland," "Touching The Void" and "Life In A Day"). MARLEY, which received a rapturous reception at its premiere at the Berlin Film Festival on Feb 12, will open in U.S. theaters on April 20, 2012, with all VOD and digital platforms, through Wagner/Cuban Company's Magnolia Pictures. Produced by Steve Bing (Shangri-La Entertainment) and Charles Steel (Cowboy Films), and executive produced by Bob's son Ziggy Marley and Island Records founder Chris Blackwell, the film features stunning live performances, intimate interviews with friends and family, and rare documentary footage -- all of which tells the definitive story of the superstar who rose from the ghetto to become one of the greats of popular music before dying tragically young at the height of his fame.

To this day, BOB MARLEY remains one of the most important and influential artists of the 20th century. Accolades include a GRAMMY®Lifetime Achievement Award (2001), multiple entries in the GRAMMY® Hall Of Fame, induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (1994), and the Hollywood Walk of Fame (2001). His lifestyle and music continues to inspire new generations as his legacy lives on with his catalog selling over 50 million albums worldwide since 1992 alone.

As an integral companion piece to this critically acclaimed documentary, the official soundtrack from MARLEY will be released through Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) on April 17, 2012, as a 2-CD collection and a special 3-LP vinyl set. The CD is housed in an environmentally friendly cardboard wallet, with 25 tracks hand-picked by the Marley family and Chris Blackwell, gathering together some of the most significant musical moments of one of the most beloved and cherished artist of all-time. Featured are classic studio recordings, a special Kindred Spirit dub mix of "Exodus" and tracks from various live performances including, for the first time on record, the 1978 One Love Peace Concert performance of "Jammin'" during which Marley joined the hands of bitter political rivals Michael Manley and Edward Seaga, a gesture which went some way towards restoring peace to a strife-torn Jamaica.

BOB MARLEY was born February 6, 1945, in rural St. Ann's Parish, Jamaica, leaving home at 14 to pursue a music career in Kingston. A naturally gifted musician and singer, he recorded his first track in 1962. In '72 finding himself stranded in London with his band the Wailers, he signed to Chris Blackwell's Island Records and went on to enjoy global success and put reggae on the music map. Many of his songs -- which highlighted both Jamaica's poverty and the spirituality of its people -- have since become universal anthems. Marley died of cancer on May 11, 1981, aged 36.

Says Kevin Macdonald, Director: "MARLEYthe film is an intimate, human portrait of the legendary singer. But as with any film about an artist, the main purpose has got to be to send the listener back to the music with a renewed appreciation for its beauty and significance. That's why I am so happy that Island are releasing this special collection of songs from and inspired by the movie."

Says Chris Blackwell, Executive Producer and Island Records Founder: "Kevin Macdonald has made a wonderful film about Marley. I think it will touch the hearts of many. It tells Bob's story properly for the first time and you get a real sense of the man and his incredible talent. His spiritual message is as relevant now as it ever was and his music still resonates around the world."

Says Ziggy Marley, Executive Producer: "This documentary is the ultimate revelation of my father's life. The family is proud to be able to have the world finally experience this emotional journey."

The tracklisting of the soundtrack, which follows the chronology of the film, is as follows:

1. Corner Stone
2. Judge Not
3. Simmer Down
4. Put It On
5. Small Axe
6. Mellow Mood
7. Stir It Up
8. Concrete Jungle
9. Crazy Baldheads
10. Natty Dread
11. Trenchtown Rock (Live at the Roxy Theatre)
12. Get Up Stand Up
13. Work

1. Jammin (Live at One Love Peace Concert)
2. Exodus Dub (Kindred Spirit Dub mix)
3. No Woman, No Cry (Live at the Lyceum Show)
4. War - Live! At the Rainbow
5. I Shot The Sheriff (Live from the Lyceum)
6. Roots Rock Reggae
7. Three Little Birds
8. Real Situation
9. Could You Be Loved
10. One Love / People Get Ready
11. Redemption Song
12. High Tide, Low Tide

"Kevin Macdonald's detailed portrait of Bob Marley grapples with the last king of reggae's philosophical and religious convictions." **** -- The Guardian

"A documentary with scope and soul, this cradle-to-grave portrait of Bob Marley... is bottling what made Asif Kapadia's 'Senna' such a success." **** -- Daily Telegraph

"One of the main treats in Berlin was Kevin Macdonald's massive feature documentary 'Marley'... What makes it inspiring is the music, the exhaustive research and the personality of Marley." -- The Independent

"Filled with thrilling concert footage and scores of in-depth interviews, Marley is sure to become the definitive documentary on the much beloved King of Reggae." -- Hollywood Reporter

"It's simply the most complete cinematic thought ever issued on this most mortal and transcendent of men." --

"… The most enjoyable film so far is 'Marley,' in which the life and career of the reggae icon is explored through archive footage and enlightening interviews with some of Marley's most idiosyncratic collaborators…" -- Time Out (New York).

Most read news of the week
Yanni: Live At El Morro, Puerto Rico
New Juanes Single "La Senal" Is Released On March 6, 2012
Classic Metal Gods Ignitor Release "Year Of The Metal Tiger" On April 10, 2012
In My Mind: New International Duet From Diane Marino & Robert Lauri
Steve Wilson Injects Some Funk With 'Super Band' Tour In April; Four Nights At Jazz Standard In NY Are Confirmed, As Are Shows In D.C. And VA
Award-winning German Reggae Artist Gentleman Excited About Debut NYC Performance
Sebastian Ingrosso And Alesso Sign With Atom Empire/Interscope For The Release Of Their Smash Single
Soulsavers: New Album 'The Light The Dead See' Announced
JB And The Moonshine Band Release 'Beer For Breakfast' In Stores Today!

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0089800 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0060501098632812 secs