Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address

'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! By Godspeed You! Black Emperor Named Winner At The 2013 Polaris Music Prize Gala Tonight

'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! By Godspeed You! Black Emperor Named Winner At The 2013 Polaris Music Prize Gala Tonight

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

Toronto, ON (Top40 Charts/ Shore Fire Media) Monday, September 23, 2013. Godspeed You! Black Emperor is the winner of the 2013 Polaris Music Prize for the album, 'ALLELUJAH! DON'T BEND! ASCEND!. The winner was decided and announced during the 8th annual gala event at The Carlu in Toronto. Godspeed You! Black Emperor was awarded a $30,000.00 cash prize.

"Godspeed will use the prize money to purchase musical instruments for, and support organizations providing music lessons to, people incarcerated within the Quebec prison system." Don Wilkie, Constellation

Godspeed You! Black Emperor is an 8-member orchestral rock ensemble based in Montreal, QC, who became well-known during the late 90's and early 2000's for their mesmerizing wall-of-sound performances and fierce DIY ethics. After releasing four records, GY!BE announced an indefinite hiatus in 2003, which lasted until December 2010, when the band returned to tour internationally and start work on a new recording. The result, 'ALLELUJAH! DON'T BEND! ASCEND! saw release in October 2012 to widespread critical acclaim.

Runners up Zaki Ibrahim, Metric, Metz, Purity Ring, Colin Stetson, Tegan And Sara, A Tribe Called Red, Whitehorse and Young Galaxy were each awarded $2,000 by Slaight Music. All Short List nominees performed at the gala except for Tegan & Sara and Godspeed You Black Emperor. The gala was webcast live on and SiriusXM channels The Verge XM 173 and The Iceberg Sirius 161.

The 11 member Grand Jury that decided the winner was Alan Cross (Indie 88.1), Kat Dornian (CJSW), Katherine Duncan (CBC), Stuart Henderson (Pop Matters), Jenny Henkelman (CKUW), Ryan McNutt (freelance journalist), Sean Michaels (Said The Gramophone), Ian Steaman (Different Kitchen), James Tennant (CFMU), Phil Villeneuve (Xtra) and Andrea Warner (freelance journalist).

"The serious contemplation given to each and every album on the short list by the Grand Jury is truly impressive," commented James Keast, who oversaw the Grand Jury. "The level of intellectual, emotional and technical consideration given to each album was, as always, impressive, and I'm very proud to be included in this collection of music-obsessed peers."

The evening was hosted by Kathleen Edwards and Shad. The presenters were selected by the nominated artists and included Sara McLachlan, Sebastien Grainger, authors Joseph Boyden and Jessica Hopper, TV personalities George Stroumboulopoulos and Melissa Hetu, past nominees Bry Webb and Raphael Standell Preston of Braids, screenwriter and producer Martin Gero, and rapper and actress Michie Mee.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the Prize's past winners have included Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) (2006).

Most read news of the week
Janet Jackson Appears On New Lady Gaga Album 'Artpop,' Tracklist Revealed
Jonny Kaplan & The Lazy Stars All-Star Packed Fourth Album, 'Sparkle And Shine,' Out Today On Reckless Grace Music
Elizabeth Mitchell & Friends - Peggy Seeger, Natalie Merchant, Dan Zanes, Aoife O'Donovan & More - Explore The Ruth Crawford Seeger Christmas Songbook On 'The Sounding Joy' On October 15, 2013
The Joshua Micah Mission: Joshua Micah To Release Debut EP
Lokixximo Lands First Number One Most Popular Song In Jamendo
Trevor Jackson Releases Debut Project "#NEWTHANG EP" Available At All Digital Retailers On September 24, 2013
TLC Reveal Title And Track-Listing For New Collection Inspired By Upcoming VH1 Biopic CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story
Musical Duo A Great Big World "Say Something" The World Listens - Debut EP Available On October 15, 2013
Skope Reviews Candice Russell 'So Much More'

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0190101 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0043911933898926 secs