News Country 05/05/2017

Steelism Announce New Album 'ism' Out June 23, 2017

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) On June 23, Steelism will follow up their critically-acclaimed debut album 615 To Fame with ism, a ten-song collection that finds the band drawing inspiration from mid-century modern design, early Brian Eno productions and 70s film scores. The album will be released on their own imprint Intoxicating Sounds, distributed by Thirty Tigers. The record marks the first time the band brings featured vocalists into their instrumental canon, with guest appearences from Tristen, Ruby Amanfu, Andrew Combs and Jessie Baylin.
"We pieced together ism like a visual mid-century modern design - an array of vibrant colors and tones aligned together while constantly striving for minimalism, even as the production grew," explains the core duo of guitarist Jeremy Fetzer and pedal steel player Spencer Cullum.

Today, Rolling Stone Country premiered "Eno Nothing" and "Shake Your Heel" ft. Tristen, the first two songs to be released from the forthcoming album.
Steam "Eno Nothing" and "Shake Your Heel" via YouTube:

ism will be available for pre-order tomorrow on iTunes and will include instant downloads of "Eno Nothing" and "Shake Your Heel." Physical pre-orders are now available via the band's web store and Amazon.

ism, was co-produced by guitarist Jeremy Fetzer, pedal steel player Spencer Cullum (together known as Steelism) and Jeremy Ferguson (Lambchop, Tristen, Andrew Combs). Tracking began on November 9th, 2016, with the divisive results of the U.S. Presidential election just in. Respite was found through the creative process while holed up at Ferguson's Battle Tapes Recording studio in Nashville, Tennessee. The usual Steelism rhythm section, Jon Radford (drums) & Jon Estes (bass), and Robbie Crowell (formerly of Deer Tick) on keys are heard throughout the record. Legendary studio musician Charlie McCoy (Bob Dylan's Blonde on Blonde) on vibraphone & harmonica and a lush string quartet provide the finishing instrumental touches.
"We began recording ism the day after the election results rolled in which created a tense atmosphere right from the get-go. We depended on Steelism to be our escape. The new rule for the sessions became that a musical part or performance was only successful if it made you laugh or feel cool! Which instantly helps filter a lot of ideas out," explained the band.
"We wanted to keep the record 100% Nashville from the studio to the musicians and singers. Nashville is currently evolving culturally and is going through some growing pains at the moment, but it continues to be a creative mecca and collaborative atmosphere for all us."

Steelism will tour this summer and will play the prestigious Newport Folk Festival and Pilgrimage Fest, with more dates to be announced soon.

1) Re-Member
2) Eno Nothing
3) Shake Your Heel (ft. Tristen)
4) Anthem
5) Roulette (ft. Ruby Amanfu)
6) Cup of Wasser
7) Chartreuse
8) Lonely Game (ft. Andrew Combs & Jessie Baylin)
9) The Henchman / The Buffalo
10) Let it Brew

Tour Dates:
6/29: Mercy Lounge - Nashville, TN
7/1: Eno River Festival - Raleigh, NC *
7/27: Rockwood Music Hall (Stage 2) - New York, NY
7/30: Newport Folk Fest - Newport, RI
9/23-9/24 @ Pilgrimage Fest - Franklin, TN *
* = co-bill w/ Ruby Amanfu

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Grammy-Award Winning Superstar Meghan Trainor To Be Honored With ASCAP Vanguard Award At 2017 ASCAP Pop Music Awards On May 18, 2017
The New Elbphilharmonie In Hamburg Goes Hollywood With A Concert Series Dedicated To Great Tinseltown Composers
Shari Rowe's "Southern Spells" Cast May 22
Ne-Yo Drops "For Fun" Remix To Kendrick Lamar's "HUMBLE."
Linkin Park Announce One More Light World Tour With Special Guest Machine Gun Kelly
International Jazz Day 2017 Worldwide Celebration Concludes With Extraordinary All-Star Global Concert, Hosted By Actor Will Smith, In Havana, Cuba
UMPG Signs Latin Hitmaking Duo MadMusick
Pandora Sounds Like Country: Exclusive Nashville Concert Featuring Jake Owen, Old Dominion, And Raelynn
Mayor Bill De Blasio And Media And Entertainment Commissioner Julie Menin Announce June Is "New York Music Month"
Chance The Rapper, Paramore, Sturgill Simpson And More Announced For The Inaugural Karoondinha Music & Arts Festival
Jay Z, J. Cole, The Chainsmokers Headline 2017 "Budweiser Made In America" Festival
Jazz Pianist Ben Rosenblum Plays Mezzrow With Billy Hart & Curtis Lundy
Blue Note At Sea Sets Sail In 2018 With An Incredible Line-up Featuring 4 Nea Jazz Masters
Dirty Water Records Presents, Archie And The Bunkers: 'Hi-Fi Organ Punk' Returns To Europe - New Single Release On Third Man Records
Blues Rock Guitarist Alex Lopez To Release Highly Anticipated Third Album "Slowdown"

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0352709 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0063705444335938 secs
Members Area