News Charts / Awards 14/05/2018

R&B Group Xscape To Be Honored With The ASCAP Golden Note Award On June 21, 2018

R&B Group Xscape To Be Honored With The ASCAP Golden Note Award On June 21, 2018

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

New York, NY (Top40 Charts / ASCAP) The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) will host its 31st annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards on Thursday, June 21, 2018 in Los Angeles. ASCAP will honor the popular 90s R&B group Xscape with the ASCAP Golden Note Award during this year's ceremony, and members Kandi Burruss, Tameka "Tiny" Cottle, Tamika Scott and LaTocha Scott will be on hand to accept. The event will also honor ASCAP songwriter and publisher members with awards for the most performed ASCAP songs of the past year on the R&B, hip-hop, rap and gospel charts.

The is one of the most prestigious honors ASCAP bestows upon songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones. Previous recipients include: Usher, Lauryn Hill, Ne-Yo, Mary Mary, A Tribe Called Quest, Alicia Keys, New Edition, Lionel Richie, Jermaine Dupri, LL Cool J, Sean "Diddy" Combs, Jay-Z and many more.

"Xscape knocked us all out in the 90s with their powerful vocal harmonies on singles like 'Just Kickin' It,' and 'Understanding,' and surprised absolutely no one as they went on to become one of the most prolific female R&B groups of all time," said ASCAP President Paul Williams. "Decades later, all four members have gone on to individual success in music and on screen, and we are thrilled to recognize their achievements with the ASCAP Golden Note Award."

Hailing from College Park, GA, sisters LaTocha and Tamika Scott, Kandi Burruss, and Tameka "Tiny" Harris, joined forces when they met at a performing arts high school. The R&B quartet was discovered in Atlanta by Jermaine Dupri, who signed them to his up-and-coming label, So So Def.

Xscape changed the face of R&B. Their powerful vocals created an incomparable sound, and their infectious ballads appealed to a wide audience. Their debut album, Hummin' Comin' At 'Cha (1993) went platinum and launched two top 10 singles, "Just Kickin' It", and "Understanding", which both became platinum number-one hits.

After two additional platinum albums, the group split, but each member of the group went on to achieve additional success. Burruss and Harris co-wrote the hit "No Scrubs" for TLC, and scored a Grammy for Best Song, and were later credited as co-writers of the 2017 Ed Sheeran smash, "Shape of You." Burruss also wrote the number-one hits "Bills, Bills, Bills" and "Bug A Boo" for Destiny's Child and "There You Go" for Pink. In 2000, she became the first woman to win the ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Songwriter of the Year Award and has over the span of her career contributed to 60+ Million records sold for artist such as Alicia Keys, Mariah Carey, *NSYNC, E40 and more. Burruss has created and executive produced several television shows including: Kandi's Wedding, Kandi's Ski Trip, and The Kandi Factory. Tameka "Tiny" Harris would hold dual roles as star and executive producer of the reality show Tiny and Toya," and she and her husband T.I. executive produced and starred in the reality series T.I. and Tiny: The Family Hustle. LaTocha Scott continued to perform and has produced for artists like Whitney Houston and Tamar Braxton, and in 2013, starred in the second season of the reality show R&B Divas: Atlanta. Tamika Scott has acted onstage and onscreen and has continued to write songs, including "The Greatest Gift" for Tyler Perry's "Daddy's Little Girls" film, recorded by Grammy winner Yolanda Adams. She has also written two books and four screenplays.

Last year, Xscape celebrated their 25th anniversary and reunited for the rerelease of their debut album, a docu-series on Bravo capturing their journey toward a momentous group performance in almost 2 decades, an electrifying tour, and an upcoming provocative film that will reveal their untold story from teens in College Park to industry icons.

During the ASCAP ceremony, awards will also be presented for ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Songwriter of the Year, Publisher of the Year, Top R&B/Hip-Hop Song, Top Rap Song and Top Gospel Song. The evening will feature live performances and guests will include top names in the music and entertainment industry.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With over 660,000 members representing more than 11.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. Learn more and stay in touch at, on Twitter and Instagram @ASCAP and on Facebook.

Most read news of the week
Celine Dion Announces Asia Tour Dates
Music Canada Advances World-Renowned Music Cities Research With New Report Examining Music Offices, Boards, And Night Mayors
Professional Boxer, Danny "Swift" Garcia's Music Imprint DSG Music, Debuts The SiAngie Twins Project Entitled #InnocentSavages
Mannheim Steamroller Christmas Comes To Miller Auditorium
The Shires To Headline Edinburgh Summer Sessions With Support From Newton Faulkner & More
Deadpool 2 Original Motion Picture Score Out Today; First Film Score In History To Receive Parental Advisory Warning
Singer/Songwriter Manda Mosher's New Single "Cold Cold Love," Featured In Motion Picture "Please Stand By"
Nova Flares Announces Debut EP: Dreamgaze For The Perfect Tarantino/Lynch Soundtrack
The Kut's Debut Album, Valley Of Thorns Enters The UK Top 200 Chart And Rolls Out A Massive Tour Which Extends To Late 2018
Ali Zagame Gets 'Brutally Honest' With You
The Bae Beach Club Debut New Song "A Place Of Our Own"
Julie Roberts, Country Music Star & Patient Advocate, To Perform At CMSC Annual Meeting
Childish Gambino's 'This Is America' Is Highest New Entry On The UK Singles Chart!
Eurovision Song Contest 2018: Winner Is Netta (Israel) With 'Toy'!
Nick Jonas Teases New Song 'Anywhere' With DJ Mustard

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0087781 secs // 4 () queries in 0.007375955581665 secs
Members Area
Latest charts