Seek out a better experience, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Latin 03/03/2003

International Latin Music Hall of Fame announces inductees for 2003

NEW YORK (ILMHF Website) - Arturo Sandoval, Trini Lopez, Juan Luis Guerra, Roberto Roena, Ismael Quintana, Raphael, Flaco Jimenez, Alberto Beltran and Juan Gabriel are among the Latin music legends being inducted into the International Latin Music Hall of Fame (ILMHF). The Fifth Annual Induction Award Ceremony and Concert will take place at Hostos Center for the Arts and Culture on April 2, 2003, at 7:30 pm, in the Bronx, NY.

Other Latin music artists to be inducted include Nelson Ned, Ray Santos, Manny Oquendo, Justi Barretto, Pucho Brown, and Jose Luis Monero. Posthumous inductions are: Desi Arnaz, Maria Grever, Consuelo Velazquez, Eliseo Grenet, Gonzalo Roig, Alvaro Dalmar, Esther Borja, and Joseito Fernandez.

Special Recognition (non-inductions) Awards will be presented to former Palladium Dancers Cuban Pete, Augie and Margo, Millie Donay, artist Erich Padilla, and filmmaker Avenol Franco. The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Johnny Ventura. The Benny More Memorial Award will be presented to Jose Alberto "El Canario".
"We are extremely pleased to announce this year's fantastic group of inductees, in addition to those artists and supporters of Latin music receiving the non-induction special awards," said Joe Hernandez, president of the ILMHF. "Every year we grow and receive more recognition as an organization that truly honors Latin artists in the same spirit that characterizes all great ‘Hall of Fames‘. In addition, it will again be filmed for television programs like ‘Images/Imagenes' of New Jersey Public television, 'Despierta' of Univision and ABC‘s ‘Puerto Rican Panorama‘", Hernandez added.

Performing at this years event will be the International Latin Music Hall of Fame Ensemble, featuring an all-star cast of legendary Latin music performers: on piano and musical director Oscar Hernandez, on timbales Rafael Irizarry, on tres Nelson Gonzalez, on congas Eddie Montalvo, on bongos Jose Mangual Jr. and on base Ruben Rodriguez. Also performing are special guests Chocolate Armenteros, Jimmy Bosch, Andrea Brachfeld, Steve Pucci, Edmar Castaneda, Pucho Brown and his Latin Soul Brothers, Habanera Raices and a new young sensation violinist Linda Kramer as well as dozens of other surprise stars. More information to follow.

The ILMHF is partly sponsored by the White Rose Corporation, Nestle's USA, Pioneer Foodmarkets, Met Supermarkets, Jose Ole, Good Humor, Tito Puente Restaurant and Hostos Center for the Arts and Culture.

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Juanes, Montenegro, Las Ketchup Top Latin Nods
Artists set for Coachella 2003
Twain, Lavigne lead Juno nominations
Country stars to headline 'Country Stampede Festival' in Kansas
Johnny Cash sings Nine Inch Nails' 'Hurt'
Kelis to marry Nas (rapper boyfriend)
Guy Pearce to star in next Silverchair video
George Harrison's guitar on show
Pepsi agrees to donate to charities
NME Awards 2003: Oasis and Coldplay share awards
BMGs' all time sellers
Cam'ron involved in Boston shooting
Common, Gang Starr, Talib Kweli & Floetry to Tour
Brit Awards 2003: complete list of winners
A Lou Pearlman probe

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0095141 secs // 4 () queries in 0.014394044876099 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.
Someone You Loved
Lewis Capaldi

Canada Top 20
Old Town Road
Lil Nas X

Brazil Top 20
Luan Santana & MC Kekel

Australia Top 20
Bad Guy
Billie Eilish

New Zealand Top 20
Old Town Road
Lil Nas X

Greece Top 20
Ti Na To Kano
Konstantinos Argiros

Bulgaria Top 20

Free for everyone, funded by music lovers -> Find out how