Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
 News Pop / Rock 12/07/2019

Stolen Jars Announces New Album 'A Reminder'

Stolen Jars Announces New Album 'A Reminder'

Video news

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Stolen Jars are excited to announce their new album A Reminder, due out September 6th. A Reminder is the follow up to their sophomore LP Kept, which garnered praise from The Village Voice, Stereogum, and NPR Music among others. On A Reminder, feelings never disappear - they refract, bounce back, return as part of a new whole. The same can be said of Stolen Jars, a band Cody Fitzgerald has guided through multiple permutations, from a high-school bedroom project in Montclair, NJ to a fixture of the Brooklyn indie rock scene. All while composing feature-length scores for The Rewrite (2014), Hard Sell (2016), and Disney's forthcoming Christmas movie Noelle.

In conjunction with the album announcement, Stolen Jars have also released "Winona", the debut single from A Reminder. "Winona, you won't be gone / light bounces back from everything" sings Cody Fitzgerald on the song. "'Winona' is about reconnecting with a close friend just as they have decided to move away," he explains. "The song celebrates that friendship, it's wistful, yet buoyant, because even though distance will inevitably change things, the singer knows the relationship is resilient and their connection will remain."

This fall, Stolen Jars will embark upon their first full tour of the United States. The band consists of guitarist and vocalist Cody Fitzgerald, vocalist Sarah Coffey, guitarist Peter Enriquez, keyboardist Grant Meyer, and drummer Matt Marsico. Guitarist Elias-Spector Zabusky and drummer Isaiah Hazzard will also be part of the touring ensemble. All upcoming tour dates, including a record release show at Brooklyn Bazaar on September 6th, may be found below.

A Reminder finds Stolen Jars deepening their arrangements, sharpening their lyrics, and expanding the band's palette with powerful vocal melodies from Sarah Coffey. The album is a detailed meditation on love, loss, and healing, its songs reach deep into memory and return with striking nuance, in both lyrics and melody. "Winona" documents a mutation in a friendship that continues over distance, while "Interstate" laments a high school friendship grown apart. Fitzgerald's compositions have long been carefully structured and delicately composed, and on A Reminder he channels that energy more clearly than ever before, focusing on small moments of heightened feeling.

Throughout A Reminder, Fitzgerald swaps pronouns from "me" to "you" between the first and second choruses, breaking apart points of view. Coffey and Magda Bermudez lend vocal melodies across the record, bringing light out of the darkest corners of each song. Coffey sings co-lead on nearly every song, her voice cascading through each refrain, and Bermudez backs her and Fitzgerald up on "Oh West."

The record excels through the connection between Fitzgerald and his collaborators. Matt Marsico's virtuoso drumming carries the band to its most anthemic heights. Eli Crews (Tune-Yards, Deerhoof, Why?) the album's mixer and engineer, was involved from the onset of the project, helping shape the sonic palette of the record. Fitzgerald brings them all together in lush harmony on A Reminder.
Upcoming Tour Dates: (Additional Dates TBA in the coming weeks)

05 - Philadelphia, PA - Boot and Saddle
06 - Brooklyn, NY - Brooklyn Bazaar
07 - Boston, MA - The Farm
09 - Rochester, NY - Bug Jar
10 - Cleveland, OH - Mahall's Locker Room
11 - Chicago, IL - Subterranean (Downstairs)
12 - Madison, WI - Communication
14 - Kansas City, MO - The Rino
15 - Denver, CO - Lion's Lair
17 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Underground
19 - Spokane, WA - The Basement at Lucky You Lounge
20 - Seattle, WA - Belltown Yacht Club
21 - Portland, OR - No Fun
27 - Los Angeles, CA - The Satellite
28 - San Diego, CA - Che Cafe
30 - Phoenix, AZ - The Trunk Space

01 - El Paso, TX - Love Buzz
03 - San Antonio, TX - Paper Tiger
05 - Dallas, TX - The Foundry
09 - Chapel Hill, NC - Local 506
10 - Richmond, VA - The Camel
11 - Washington, DC - Comet Ping Pong

Most read news of the week
Joseph Announces New Album 'Good Luck, Kid' Set For September 13 Release
Andrew Neil Releases New Single "Hope"
Burna Boy Announced As Apple Music Up Next Artist
Beck Releases "Saw Lightning (Freestyle)" Video, Out Now
Broadway Director Thom Zimny Directs Bruce Springsteen's Western Stars
Esperanza Spalding Unveils Latest Video For "Move Many"
Snoop Dogg On 6ix9ine: 'Let That (Rat) Rot'
The Black Keys' "Let's Rock" Debuts At No 1 On Top Current Album Chart, No 4 On Billboard 200!
Beyonce Produces And Performs On Multi-Artist Album "The Lion King: The Gift"
Helivs Release Self-Titled Album July 11, 2019; Announce Tour Dates For July
Sigur Ros Present New Liminal Release Via Calm App
Ed Sheeran Releases Music Video For 'Blow' Featuring Chris Stapleton & Bruno Mars
Martin Guitar To Introduce New Guitars And Strings At 2019 Summer NAMM
Jay Whiss Drops Official Video For "How It Goes"
Beyonce Releases Single 'Spirit' From The Lion King: The Gift Album

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0275321 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0075619220733643 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how