Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Rock 08/08/2019

Uriah Heep Keyboardist Phil Lanzon Returns With New Solo Album '48 Seconds'

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Longtime Uriah Heep keyboardist Phil Lanzon's second-ever solo album, '48 Seconds,' will be released on Friday, August 9, 2019, via PLD (Phil Lanzon Ditties).
Distributed by Cargo Records, the album will be available on CD, double gatefold colored vinyl and all digital outlets, and can also be purchased via these links: and

As with his first album, 'If You Think I'm Crazy,' Phil has teamed up with producer Simon Hanhart and arranger Richard Cottle. With his love of film score, Lanzon has created a sometimes cinematic backdrop to this mixed genre of songs enabling drama and emotion to fly hand in hand.

With a journey from orchestral instrumental to hard rock, from ballad to the symphonic and choir epic title track, "48 Seconds" - which commemorates the 1906 earthquake of San Francisco - the listener is certainly in for a sonic treat. The soaring "Blue Mountain" proves to be another standout, as well as the hard rocker "You Can Make A Livin'," plus the big band solo section in "Forty Line." "Rock n Roll Children" has become a favourite due to its luscious female lead vocal. "Face to Face" is a duet ballad with Phil and is a home truth about social media with an orchestral interlude and power sing along chorus. Almost too much to like here! The album cover and all artwork was created by Michael Cheval (, and you can also hear Phil's thoughts on the album via this link:

And the buzz and feedback concerning the album prior to its release has been extremely positive, including Patrick Alexander at KMIH-FM, who said, "48 Seconds arrived in my mailbox today. Congrats on a great album. Of course, I knew the title track was great but overall this is excellent. I'm familiar with a lot of Simon Hanhart's work but the two of you craft such a huge sound!!! People just don't make records with this kind of depth anymore. The use of a real orchestra makes all the difference. Now I have to hear your first album."

In addition to being a member of prog-metal trailblazers Uriah Heep since 1986, the talented keyboardist has also worked with a variety of other artists over the years, including Grand Prix, Sad Café, The Loose Ends, The Sweet, as well as recently penning a fiction book loaded with suspense and adventure, 'Curse Of The Mudchalk Devil.'

A reviewer from the UK voiced his approval of the book, by stating, "I've just finished reading the superb 'Curse Of The Mudchalk Devil' by Uriah Heep keyboardist, the mighty Phil Lanzon. What an amazing fantasy it took me on. I couldn't wait to turn each page. I would highly recommend it for children and adults alike. 10/10! If, or should I say when, it gets made into a movie I can imagine it being directed by Tim Burton or Peter Jackson." -Danny Hines. Singing troubadour.

Not only will fans get to see Lanzon on stage with Uriah Heep (who just wrapped up a US tour with Judas Priest) this year throughout Europe, but also, will soon have additional listening and reading material, with the arrivals of '48 Seconds' and 'Curse Of The Mudchalk Devil'!

'48 Seconds' track listing:
01. Azura's Theme (Instrumental)
02. In The Rain
03. Forty Line
04. Rock N Roll Children
05. Blue Mountain
06. Look At The Time
07. Road To London
08. You Can Make A Living
09. Face To Face
10. 48 Seconds

Recording lineup:
* Phil Lanzon - Keys and lead vocals
* John Mitchell - Lead vocals
* Andy Makin - Lead vocals
* Richard Cottle - Additional keys, Saxes
* Neal Wilkinson - Drums
* Adam Goldsmith - Guitar
* Mick O'Donohue - Giutar
* Miriam Grey - Lead vocals, background vocals
* Phoebe Street, Andy Caine, Andy Playfoot - Background vocals
* Tom Walsh - Trumpets
* Clare Mcinerney - Saxes
* Neil Sidwell - Trombones
* Chris Haigh - Violin solo
* Richard Harwood - Cello solo
* Levine Andrade - Viola solo
* London Telefilmonic Orchestra - Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Double Bass

Most read news of the week
Broadway Deaf Actress Amelia Hensley Stars In 'Tomorrow's Today' Official Music Video
Dennis Lloyd Collaborates With Tom Morello For Spotify Singles
BBC Music Announces Plans For Reading And Leeds Festival 2019
Nordic Pop Singer Johanna Kuvaja Presents Debut Upbeat Single 'Shower'
Linda McCartney's 1998 Compilation "Wide Prairie," Out Now
Future, Young Thug, Gunna & Lil Baby Reveal Plans For 'Super Slimey 2'
The Mission's Wayne Hussey Announces EU-UK Tour & Schecter Guitar Giveaway
Rhiannon Giddens To Receive Inaugural Legacy Of Americana Award At Americana Honors & Awards
Celebrating The 20th Anniversary Of The 1999 Performance And Grammy-Winning S&M Album, Metallica & San Francisco Symphony Reunite For S&M²
UB40 Featuring Ali Campbell & Astro To Embark On North American Greatest Hits Tour With Shaggy!
KP The Great Announces Headlining Set At One Musicfest
James Blake Shares Video For "Can't Believe The Way We Flow"
Grammy-Nominated Artist Mike Posner Releases New Track "Prince Akeem" Ft. Wiz Khalifa
PBDY Shares All New Double Single
Hacktivist Releases Video For New Single "Dogs Of War"!

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.8307841 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0085737705230713 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how