Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
RnB 10/05/2005

Motown Remixed Trio of Vinyl Albums Set for Release on May 10th from UMe

Hot Songs Around The World

Dua Lipa
313 entries in 26 charts
Lovin On Me
Jack Harlow
327 entries in 23 charts
Stick Season
Noah Kahan
359 entries in 20 charts
328 entries in 20 charts
Lose Control
Teddy Swims
388 entries in 25 charts
Beautiful Things
Benson Boone
234 entries in 26 charts
Si No Estas
Inigo Quintero
303 entries in 17 charts
Yes, And?
Ariana Grande
195 entries in 27 charts
Ofenbach & Norma Jean Martine
186 entries in 14 charts
Taylor Swift
620 entries in 23 charts
Tate McRae
682 entries in 28 charts
SANTA MONICA, CA. (UMe Records) - Motown fans and music lovers around the world will have a chance to experience the legendary record label's classics on vinyl when three volumes of Motown Remixed are released on May 10th, 2005. Volume 1 is "hip-hop," Volume 2 is "club" and Volume 3 is "chill." Motown Remixed, the 15-song CD of Motown classics re-grooved by today's name remixers and producers will be released on Motown/UMe on May 24th, 2005.

Two of the three songs on the "chill" volume are already charting. Marvin Gaye's "Let's Get It On" remix by Paul Simpson and Miles Dalto has been on both the Billboard and Radio & Records charts. Meantime, the "Chill Jazz Mix" of Smokey Robinson's "Quiet Storm" by the Groove Boutique features guest soloist Roy Ayers and has gotten radio airplay in select markets. There's also a DJ Jazzy Jeff and Pete Kuzma "Solefull Mix" of The Temptation's "Papa Was A Rolling Stone" on "chill."

Extended mixes of classics on the hip-hop vinyl include two Jackson 5 tracks, "I Want You Back" (Z-Trip Remix) and "ABC" (Salaam Remi Extended Krunk-a-delic Party Mix); Gladys Knight & The Pips' "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" (The Randy Watson Experience Sympathy For The Grapes Mix) and The Undisputed Truth's "Smiling Faces Sometimes" (Futureshock Main Ingredient Mix). The club volume contains Eddie Kendrick's "Keep On Truckin'" (DJ Spinna Extended Mix), Edwin Starr's "War" (King Britt Extended Mix) and Stevie Wonder's "Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours" (DJ Smash Essential Funk Mix).

Special marketing and promotional events surrounding the release of Motown Remixed will be held in major markets and feature DJ Smash on the turntables. There will be a special event at Zanzibar in Santa Monica on Thursday, May 12th. Motown's hometown of Detroit will play host to release parties on Thursday, May 26th and Saturday, May 28th. Both nights will be a part of the annual Detroit Electronic Music Festival weekend.

For the producers/remixers of Motown Remixed, revisiting songs that have inspired them was a dream come true. For Old School Motown fans, Motown Remixed is a resurrection. For fans of current hip-hop, R&B and Pop, Motown Remixed is a revelation. So hear it again for the first time. Motown Remixed, the album, stars producers/remixers and the songs:

- Paul Simpson (Serious Intention, Spinners, Jacksons) and Miles Dalto, for Marvin Gaye's "Let's Get It On"
- 'The Randy Watson Experience': AKA Ahmir "?uestlove" Thompson (The Roots, Common, Nikka Costa, Joss Stone) and James Poyser (Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, Roots, Anthony Hamilton), for Gladys Knight & The Pips' "I Heard It Through The Grapevine"
- DJ Green Lantern (Eminem, Nas, Tupac, and has his own new album coming soon), for Rick James' "Mary Jane"
- Salaam Remi (Ludacris, Amy Winehouse, Fugees, Nas, Jamiroquai), for the Jackson 5's "ABC"
- DJ Z-Trip (Soup of Jurassic 5, Chuck D and has his own new album "Shifting Gears"), for the Jackson 5's "I Want You Back"
- DJ Jazzy Jeff (Will Smith, Jill Scott, Kenny Lattimore, KRS-1), for The Temptations' "Papa Was A Rolling Stone"
- DJ Spinna (Guru, De La Soul, Mary J. Blige), for Eddie Kendricks' "Keep On Truckin'"
- Hank Shocklee (Shocklee Entertainment, Public Enemy, Mary J. Blige, Ice Cube, Peter Gabriel), for the Undisputed Truth's "Smiling Faces Sometimes"
- Easy Mo Bee (Alicia Keys, Notorious B.I.G., Miles Davis), for The Temptations' "Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)"
- Mocean Worker AKA Adam Dorn (U2, Mystikal, Moby, Charles Wright, Bill Frisell, Nina Simone), for Rare Earth's "I Just Want To Celebrate"
- Hotsnax AKA Full Phatt (Ashanti, Nelly, Outkast, Usher, Christina Milian, Bob Marley), for Smokey Robinson & The Miracles' "The Tears Of A Clown"
- King Britt (SYLK130, Digable Planets, Miles Davis, Grover Washington, Jr.), for Edwin Starr's "War"
- DJ Smash (Roy Ayers, Chico Hamilton, Cassandra Wilson), for Stevie Wonder's "Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours"
- Rafe Gomez and David Baron as 'The Groove Boutique' (the nationally-syndicated cool jazz mix show of the same name), for Smokey Robinson's "Quiet Storm"
- Tranzition (everyANYTHING), for Diana Ross & The Supremes' "My World Is Empty Without You"

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2024 (S4)
about | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.7000511 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0048172473907471 secs