Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 16/05/2020

How to watch Live Eurovision 2020: Europe Shine A Light!

How to watch Live Eurovision 2020: Europe Shine A Light!

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) 'Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light', will air in place of the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 Grand Final on Saturday 16 May at 21:00 CEST.
Public service broadcasters from over 40 countries will broadcast the show.

In addition to spotlighting the 41 songs of 2020, the unique production will include special performances from popular artists from Eurovision's past. 2020's artists will also join together, from their locations across Europe, in a unifying performance of 1997's Eurovision winner Love Shine A Light by Katrina And The Waves.

Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light will bring audiences across Europe and around the world together in celebration. The show, airing in place of the Grand Final of the 65th Eurovision Song Contest, is brought to you by the European Broadcasting Union and its Dutch Members NPO, NOS and AVROTROS. It will be hosted by Chantal Janzen, Edsilia Rombley (Eurovision 1998 and 2007) and Jan Smit, live from Hilversum, the Netherlands.

Presenters: Edsilia Rombley, Chantal Janzen en Jan SmitNPO/NOS/AVROTROS
The 2020 Online Host will be NikkieTutorials.

Sietse Bakker, Executive Producer Event of what would have been the 65th Eurovision Song Contest, said: "We want to make a show that puts a spotlight not only on the 41 artists that were due to appear in Rotterdam but also inspire those at home and connect people from across Europe and beyond in these difficult times. Of course, we will also honour those who are affected by the coronavirus crisis and those who work so hard to fight it. Let's make this an unforgettable moment in Eurovision history!"
The EBU and its Dutch Members NPO, NOS and AVROTROS are producing the new show from the Mediapark in Hilversum.

The third Eurovision Song Contest in 1958 also took place in the 'media capital' of the Netherlands - Hilversum, after Net Als Toen by Corry Brokken gave the country its first victory in 1957. It was the first time in Eurovision history that the winning country hosted the Contest the following year.
Corry Brokken, winner of the 1957 Eurovision Song Contest for the Netherlands.Unknown

This year, in more challenging times, a diverse collection of performances from across Europe will connect us all through music. Michael Schulte (Germany, 2018) will accompany Ilse DeLange from The Common Linnets (the Netherlands, 2014) performing Ein Bisschen Frieden, the song of Germany's first winner (Nicole, 1982).

Israel's Eurovision winner from 1979, Gali Atari, will also sing her huge hit Hallelujah alongside a choir featuring past participants from the Junior Eurovision Song Contest.

Other performances include Sweden's Måns Zelmerlöw singing his 2015 winning song Heroes, Marija Šerifović the 2007 winner for Serbia, with Molitva and Netta (Israel, 2018) will contribute a moving acoustic version of a new song with a special message about these unusual times.

As a special treat, reigning Eurovision champion Duncan Laurence will premiere his brand new song, Someone Else, during the show.
Duncan Laurence (The Netherlands 2019) performing his winning song 'Arcade'Andres Putting

The Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra will add a classical touch to the show in a very special sequence too.

Eurovision fans from across the world will also help bring an unforgettable sing-a-long moment to the screen. They will form a huge Eurovision choir and sing Johnny Logan's What's Another Year with the three-time Eurovision winner himself.

The show will be hosted by Dutch presenters Chantal Janzen, Edsilia Rombley (Eurovision 1998 and 2007) and Jan Smit.
Eurovision 2020 presenters Edsilia Rombley, Chantal Janzen and Jan SmitNPO/AVROTROS/NOS

BBC Eurovision host Graham Norton and Dutch YouTube sensation NikkieTutorials will also make appearances in the live broadcast.
NikkieTutorials, online presenter of Eurovision 2020NPO/AVROTROS/NOS

With preparations for the unique broadcast Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light in full swing, it has been revealed that the presenters will dress in Dutch designers. Diek Pothoven, who was appointed Head of Styling for the Eurovision Song Contest 2020, said that he and the hosts chose creations from David Laport, MAISON the FAUX and Francisco van Benthum. "This big, international stage deserves the craftsmanship of these authentic Dutch designers."

Edsilia Rombley and Chantal Janzen will wear designs by David Laport. Jan Smit will wear a suit, customized by Francisco van Benthum from the label HACKED by__. Lastly, NikkieTutorials will be dressed in a design by MAISON the FAUX.
Diek Pothoven, Head of FashionNPO/AVROTROS/NOS
The live show is expected to last 2 hours. There will be even more surprise performances on the night so you can look forward to an incredible show! Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light will also be broadcast LIVE on our official YouTube channel.

Most read news of the week
Soundcheck Live Releases Multi-Artist Cover Of 'Let It Be' To Benefit MusiCares Relief Fund
Powfu Announces New EP "Poems Of The Past," Set For Release May 15; Releases New Track "Ill Come Back To You" (Ft. Sarcastic Sounds & Rxseboy)
Stream Future's New Album 'High Off Life' Ft. Drake, Travis Scott, Lil Uzi Vert & Young Thug!
The VOICE Announces Special Finale Performances
Nicky Romero Drops Hard-Hitting Edit Of "Techno" By Teamworx , Mr. Sid & George Z As Protocol's 200th Release
Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert To Stream Globally In Support Of The World Health Organization On May 15
Questlove And Black Thought Of The Roots And Two One Five Entertainment Ink First-Look Deal With Universal TV
Danielia Cotton Re-Emerges With 'A Different War' To Confront Race, Gender, And Wealth
Singer/Songwriter Jaclyn Manfredi Embraces R&B Roots In New Video Release Of "Lost Me" On May 29, 2020

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0198679 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0046412944793701 secs