Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Latin 14/01/2014

Flaco Jimenez & Max Baca Perform Best Of The Conjunto Repertoire On New Smithsonian Folkways Album, Out 2/25/14

Flaco Jimenez & Max Baca Perform Best Of The Conjunto Repertoire On New Smithsonian Folkways Album, Out 2/25/14
New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ Shore Fire Media) In the world of accordion-driven Texas-Mexican conjunto music, Leonardo "Flaco" Jiménez and Max Baca are at once pillars of the past and forgers of the future. 'Legends and Legacies' spotlights these GRAMMY award-winning artists, each an inheritor of a musical legacy from his father and grandfather, and each a dynamic force of musical genius.

For more than 60 years, Flaco has pioneered the three-row button accordion, earning five GRAMMYs along the way, and ever since Max, 28 years his junior, joined him on the bajo sexto guitar, the duo has cultivated a larger-than-life reputation both on and off the stage. On February 25, 2014, Smithsonian Folkways will release 'Flaco & Max: Legends & Legacies,' a new album featuring Flaco and Max's interpretations of the best of the conjunto repertoire.

"If you only just push one button and you push it with heart, that's all you need—the heart, the alegría (joy)." — Leonardo "Flaco" Jiménez

Listen to selections from the album:
Watch Flaco and Max record "Me voy lejos (I'm Going Far Away)":

Watch the NPR "Tiny Desk Concert":

With accordion and the deep-pitched bajo sexto front-and-center, electric bass and drum kit supporting, and lyrics that are down-to-earth and often funny, conjunto ranges from fast-paced polkas (canción-polca) to slower, Mexican-style country songs (canción-ranchera). 'Flaco & Max' showcases the full breadth of the genre. Each an inheritor of a musical legacy from his father and grandfather, Flaco and Max chose the repertoire they consider most important to their respective musical paths for the album.

On the boisterous canción-polca "Cada Vez Que Cae La Tarde" — composed by Flaco's father, Santiago Jiménez, Sr. — Flaco and Max sing as a solid duo during the verses, and in between they trade zippy, virtuosic riffs. Other selections on the album were written by Flaco ("Fiesta alegre," Joyful Fiesta) or were taught to Flaco and Max by their fathers ("Me voy lejos").

Born in 1939 into a line of pioneering Tejano accordionists, Flaco has won GRAMMYs for his own recordings and for albums with the Texas Tornados. He's also recorded with artists including The Rolling Stones, Dwight Yoakam and Ry Cooder.

Max was 7 when he met Flaco at a concert; 20 years later, he became his bajo sexto player. Flaco brought Max into the Texas Tornados, whose combination of country, rock and conjunto has inspired Max's Los Texmaniacs. The band's 2009 Smithsonian Folkways album 'Borders y Bailes' won a GRAMMY, and its 2012 album 'Texas Towns & Tex-Mex Sounds' received a Latin GRAMMY nomination this year.

'Flaco & Max: Legends and Legacies" is the 40th release in the Smithsonian Folkways Tradiciones/Traditions series since 2002. The series, a co-production with the Smithsonian Latino Center, showcases the diverse musical heritage of the 50 million Latinos living in the USA.

For tour dates, please visit
'Flaco & Max: Legends & Legacies' tracklist:
1. Margarita, Margarita
2. Cada vez que cae la tarde (Each Time the Afternoon Wanes)
3. El pesudo (The Man with Lots of Pesos)
4. Me voy lejos (I'm Going Far Away)
5. Borradita diente de oro (Bright-Eyed Golden-Tooth Girl)
6. La múcura (The Clay Jug)
7. Mi primer amor (My First Love)
8. El parrandero (The Man on a Spree)
9. Los amores de José (José's Loves)
10. Brincando cercas (Jumping Fences)
11. Jardin de las flores (Garden of the Flowers)
12. La viejita (The Little Old Lady)
13. Beer-Drinking Polka
14. La nueva Zenaida (The New Zenaida)
15. Morena, morenita (Dark Woman, Little Dark Woman)
16. Ay te guacho cucaracho (See You Later, Alligator)
17. Fiesta alegre (Joyful Fiesta)

Most read news of the week
7Horse Meth Lab Zoso On Soundtrack & In Film The Wolf Of Wall Street & On FOX NFL Sports
71st Golden Globe Awards 2014: Full List Of The Winners
Lakeshore Records Presents G.B.F. - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
'Now That's What I Call Country Ballads 2' To Be Released January 21, 2014
King Of Dancehall Beenie Man Collaborates With International Star Orisha Sound On New Single "World War III"
Listen First: Shakira's Brand New Single 'Can't Remember To Forget You' Ft. Rihanna!
Carole King Honored As Legacy Recordings' Artist Of The Month For January 2014
"Inside Llewyn Davis" Now Playing In Theaters Across United States
Rob Thomas Announces Spring 2014 Tour

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.9762530 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0090837478637695 secs