Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
RnB 15/12/2014

Kevin Gates' "Luca Brasi 2: A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition Mixtape" Available Today!

Hot Songs Around The World

Fast Car
Luke Combs
274 entries in 12 charts
Casso, Raye & D-Block Europe
239 entries in 19 charts
Cruel Summer
Taylor Swift
350 entries in 20 charts
Paint The Town Red
Doja Cat
327 entries in 28 charts
Tate McRae
225 entries in 26 charts
Blinding Lights
1780 entries in 33 charts
Taylor Swift
208 entries in 15 charts
Pharrell Williams
1256 entries in 35 charts
Kenya Grace
219 entries in 24 charts
Calm Down
960 entries in 23 charts
Dance The Night
Dua Lipa
411 entries in 27 charts
Until I Found You
Stephen Sanchez
190 entries in 16 charts
Dua Lipa
34 entries in 23 charts
All I Want For Christmas Is You
Mariah Carey
1155 entries in 28 charts
Kevin Gates' "Luca Brasi 2: A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition Mixtape" Available Today!
New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ Atlantic Records) Bread Winners' Association/Atlantic recording artist Kevin Gates has announced today's release of his eagerly awaited new mixtape, "LUCA BRASI 2: A GANGSTA GRILLZ SPECIAL EDITION MIXTAPE." The collection, which follows the Baton Rouge-based MC's acclaimed "BY ANY MEANS," will be available at all digital retailers starting today Monday, December 15th including iTunes (

"LUCA BRASI 2: A GANGSTA GRILLZ SPECIAL EDITION MIXTAPE" marks the latest installment of DJ Drama's "GANGSTA GRILLZ" series, the hugely successful mixtape franchise that has previously seen collections from such southern hip hop heavyweights as T.I., Lil Wayne, 2 Chainz, and Jeezy. In addition to its official release, a free version of "LUCA BRASI 2: A GANGSTA GRILLZ SPECIAL EDITION MIXTAPE" -- featuring Drama's unforgettable style of mixtape commentary and banter throughout -- is also available via

"LUCA BRASI 2: A GANGSTA GRILLZ SPECIAL EDITION MIXTAPE" includes the phenomenal anthem, "I Don't Get Tired (#IDGT) (Feat. August Alsina)," which caused a social media movement earlier this year. Gates' use of the phrase, "I Don't Get Tired," followed by #IDGT -- both of which represent his overall attitude as a rapper and parent with a relentless hardworking attitude -- has been used over half a million times on Instagram alone, with countless other placements on other social media platforms. A companion video for the unrelenting anthem will be released soon.

Furthermore, "LUCA BRASI 2: A GANGSTA GRILLZ SPECIAL EDITION MIXTAPE" is highlighted by such buzz tracks as the introspective and emotional "Perfect Imperfection" and the street anthem "John Gotti," and features appearances from such rising stars as Rich Homie Quan, Boobie Black, Rico Love, and K. Camp (see attached track listing and production credits).

Gates -- who recently completed a near entirely sold-out U.S. headlining tour in support of "BY ANY MEANS" followed by another stateside trek alongside labelmate B.o.B on his "No Genre Tour" -- first broke out big-time with 2013's masterful mixtape, "THE LUCA BRASI STORY." The set -- alongside featured roles on tracks like Pusha T's "Trust You" -- earned the Baton Rouge-based MC both popular success and widespread critical acclaim for his extraordinary emotional power and melodic invention, ultimately leading to a new partnership between Atlantic Records and his own Bread Winners' Association. In addition, "THE LUCA BRASI STORY" was named by Rolling Stone as one of the "20 Best Hip Hop Albums of 2013," with the mixtape's "Wylin'," ranked in the top 40 of the "100 Best Songs of 2013" ranking.

"BY ANY MEANS" arrived in March 2014 and immediately affirmed Gates as a major force. The mixtape landed at # 3 on Billboard's "Top Rap Albums" chart and at #17 on the overall SoundScan/Billboard 200, with sales nearly doubling his previous first week sales record.

What's more, "BY ANY MEANS" quickly proved itself to be among the most acclaimed hip-hop releases of 2014 and landed Gates a spot on the XXL Magazine's renowned annual list of up-and-coming hip-hop artists, the "XXL Freshmen 2014." "Easily the most complex, confounding, and fascinating gangster rap record of the year so far," declared Complex. "(Gates) lays down more creative and interesting rap melodies than just about anybody, Drake and them included." "Breathtaking," agreed The Fader. "Gates imbues (tracks like 'Bet I'm On It' and 'Don't Know') with raw emotional honesty and generous glimpses into his personal life." "Lyrically dexterous in the manner of older Southern giants like Bun B and 8Ball," declared the New York Times, while Rolling Stone raved, "The 28-year-old Baton Rouge, Louisiana, artist raps, sings and harmonizes, often alternating between vocal modes within a verse, exuding a gritty earthiness that sets him apart from contemporary crooners like Future and Rich Homie Quan... (Gates) writes lyrics with passion and humility and speaks honestly about a rough life that has included multiple stretches in prison." "One of the realest MCs in the game right now," decreed XXL, "someone who's both genuine and sincere... on 'BY ANY MEANS,' he comes off worthy of the acclaim, spitting vivid street stories that range from gut-wrenching to endearing all while demonstrating a serious knack for songwriting." "Packed with uptempo anthems and chest-pumping bravado," noted Pitchfork, adding, "with 'BY ANY MEANS,' (Kevin Gates) completes a three-release run that's as solid as any in recent memory." Perhaps Vibe summed it up best: "If there's one rapper that more people need to be talking about, it's Kevin Gates."
For more, please see,,,, and

(Bread Winners' Association/Atlantic)
Release Date: December 15th
1. Luca Brasi Intro - Produced by Big Hurt Tracks
2. I Don't Get Tired (#IDGT) (Feat. August Alsina) - Produced by Nic Nac and Mark Kragen
3. John Gotti - Produced by Red On Da Track & Capo Red
4. Perfect Imperfection - Produced by Red On Da Track & Touchdown
5. Plug Daughter - Produced by Beat Zombie
6. Out The Mud - Produced by The Runners and The Monarch
7. Thugged Out (Feat. Boobie Black) - Produced by Rico Love & Diego Ave
8. Sit Down - Produced by Bobby Johnson
9. Complaining (feat. Rico Love) - Produced by Rico Love & Dwayne "D-Town" Nesmith
10. Talk On Phones - Produced by B.o.B
11. Wassup With It - Produced by Kane Beatz, JMIKE and TODAY for The Building Productions
12. Don't Panic - Produced by Earl E & Diego Ave
13. Break The Bitch Down (feat. K Camp) - Produced by The Freshm3n III & Go Grizzly
14. In My Feelings - Produced by P-Lo of The Invasion and Mark Nilan, Jr.
15. Pourin The Syrup - Produced by Jaque Beats
16. Wild Ride - Produced by Deezy & Prezident Jeff
17. Word Around Town (Feat. Rich Homie Quan) - Produced by The Featherstones
18. Makin Love - Produced by Beat Zombie.

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2023 (S4)
about | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0126841 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0044481754302979 secs